Another Day in Beautiful Bali!


Advertisement
Asia
October 30th 2009
Published: October 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cafe WayanCafe WayanCafe Wayan

Truly the most beautiful restaurant.
Hey everyone thanks for all the comments. Sorry I haven't responded but I didn't know what those were. I thought it was just telling me how many people looked at it. LOL Anyway I am still in Bali until Tuesday when I fly home. Soaking up as much sunshine as I can. I have done a few thing since my last post like an All day bike tour, a few more massages (not in quite like the other spa lbut still very nice). Feeling a little under the weather today so thought I would just throw up some PICs and a few words.
The bike trip was so much fun. First I got picked up on a motorbike and driven about 25 mins into mountains to meet up with a small group. They put us in a minivan and the bikes are loaded in a truck behind us. We stopped and had breakfast overlooking the active Volcano Batur and the lake. It was beautiful. They then took us further in the mountains where we got on our bikes for a 25K mostly downhill (so they say!!!) ride. It was amazing, I cannot tell you how beautiful it was so many
Lovely garden at Cafe Lovely garden at Cafe Lovely garden at Cafe

Another spot at Cafe Wayans
rice paddies and small villages. All the children run after you yelling hello. So much fun. Everyone was French in fact I think if I closed my eyes in Ubud I would think I was in France with everyone talking French. Had a great group though who invited me to France with their card and everything who knows. We then went to a village and had an incredible lunch very Balinese (may be why I am sick though). Had a great time overall. The last few days I kind of have been just doing some shopping and lots of walking. I have to go now as my stomach is really rumbling. I guess I didn't think about this being a third world country but it is and sanitation may not be what we are use to more like refrigeration, they are very clean people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

They have these places everywhereThey have these places everywhere
They have these places everywhere

I had to take a picture. I remember seeing Anthony Bourdains camera man knocking this over. I stayed safely away.
Cafe WayanCafe Wayan
Cafe Wayan

It is just filled with little places to eat and sit in just an amazingly beautiful restaurant oh and the food is great too.
Bike TourBike Tour
Bike Tour

Beautiful but a hot ride
bike tour picbike tour pic
bike tour pic

Yes lots of rice paddies
Flower shotFlower shot
Flower shot

Just another table decoration
bike Tour photobike Tour photo
bike Tour photo

This is a rice paddy about to be harvested
PrettyPretty
Pretty

Part of the temple grounds
The LakeThe Lake
The Lake

The lake sits at the base of Batur
Volcano BaturVolcano Batur
Volcano Batur

A little smoggy but really nice
Drying the riceDrying the rice
Drying the rice

All the villagers dry there rice in front before husking it. They only grow enough for their families they don't export any from Bali or if any very little
Wayans GardenWayans Garden
Wayans Garden

I was too busy talking and eating and didn't take many pictures of the place we had lunch but it was very pretty.
pretty flowerspretty flowers
pretty flowers

Everywhere there are flowers
Dance PictureDance Picture
Dance Picture

I went to another dance with only Women doing the music. I must say they were much more enthusiastic
Breakfast at hotelBreakfast at hotel
Breakfast at hotel

They serve this at my balcony very morning with slight variations on the egg part I am now just saying fruit and coffee please.


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb