Weekend in Colombo


Advertisement
Asia
August 7th 2009
Published: August 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

2nd August

Just back from a weekend in Colombo. There isn’t any wonder why the guide books say many people bypass the capital, there is not much to do even by the local’s standards. I headed up on Friday by bus, which was an extremely uncomfortable ride for 3 hours, reminiscent of a small mini bus crammed full of people in Cambodia and no one wants to relive that story, do they George? At least this was 3 hours and not 16 or whatever is was back then and for 200 rupees you can’t have luxury! The ride back was in a slightly bigger bus but no more comfortable. I think they design buses for the locals height and not foreigners over 5ft 2 as my knees are brusied from pushing into the seat in front of me. But it is all in the experience so they tell me.

Found my hotel, it was the Ceylon Continental, in a heavily guarded high security zone, so much so, that on the way from the bus station, all of 2-3kms, my tuk tuk was stopped 3 times so police could check his ID and why he was driving in the direction he was! I asked why all the security and he said there are many govt departments in the area and they have stepped up security in case of tigers. Now wouldn’t you think they would have had this in place when the war was in full swing? Anyway, no sign of war or marauding tigers since I have been here!

Anyway, did some exploring around the old Fort and Pettah Markets in Colombo, these are basically hot, dirty streets selling all manner of things, predominately plastic everythings. I was heading out of the fort when a man stopped to talk to me, asked the usual questions, where you from etc etc, but he was different and he came from the Maldives, worked in a bank in Colombo and hates it! He asked me what I was doing, to which I replied just wandering to see what is about. He promptly told me there is not much to do or see in Colombo, he suggested I go to Colombo 3 (everything is divided up into numbered sections), Colombo 3 is Cinnamon Gardens where the wealthy live and there are shopping malls. So we jumped in a tuk tuk (yes, I know I just met the man, I could have been going anywhere, but it was the middle of the day, he seemed genuine and I can jump out of a tuk tuk if need be!) All was good as he dropped me at a shopping mall so I could get some lunch at the food court and do some shopping and he went off to his office. Not before he got my phone number though. And that was that, he tried to call a couple of times that afternoon but I didn’t speak with him as it wasn’t a good idea to have a drink with a complete stranger at night time in Colombo! I did have enough sense about that!

Saturday I walked down the Galle Face Walk towards to the Galle Face Hotel, there was plenty of security around and not many people. I stopped and asked an army guy if I was allowed to take photos as I was in a high security area (it was quite surreal). He said I could only take photo’s south of where I was and none of any military personnel. Fair enough, no point arguing with him.

I went to Odels to find some swimwear for the boys at the pool, but the woopy doo shopping centre didn’t have anything! So I went back to the hotel for a couple of hours by the pool, walked back down Galle Face Walk to watch the many locals and lovers watching the sunset and feel like I was being watched by the enormous number of military personnel about.

On another note, very excited as I have found that the locally made gin is good and I have found somewhere that sells tonic….so now we have Arrack and Gin on the list. A cleansing arrack or gin in the balmy heat of the evenings is a very pleasant time to be had by all.

You have got to love the simplicity of life in the village. As I sit here writing this, sipping my G&T, the lady of the house across the way is mowing the lawn, with one of those old blade mowers that you pull and push! No power tools here.

Can you believe I am half way through my journey? The time has flown and I have learnt so much! It has been a great experience and there is still more to come!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb