China -Beijing


Advertisement
Asia
January 16th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Vendor on the WallVendor on the WallVendor on the Wall

A lovely man who was engraving plaques on the wall
My trip to China was so very long ago. I went on a packaged tour with Classic Oriental Tours - Beijing: The Great Wall, Palaces, Temples, Pandas and Street Markets. This was my first big trip overseas so I am sure I had that Gob Smacked look on my face that I have seen on other travelers since. The kind where you eyes are wide and mouth is always open.
First day we visited a traditional home which was owned by Rose, a very lovely lady. Then there was the big visit to Tiananmen Square and it was much smaller than what I thought it was going to be. They say you can fit 2,000 chinese, but 4,000 japanese (a chinese joke picking on the japanese stature).
Beihei Park was beautiful with its temples and trees certainly a place for relaxation and meditation. But of course I cannot forget the Great Wall, we went to the Mutianyu section of the wall (a remote area). I was astounded at how rocky there mountains are and I was in awe at even how it could possibly have been built under such trying conditions of the time. I do remember getting mugged by close to 10 street vendors, who literally surrounded me. My friend and I were walking off the wall and as she put it "All of a sudden you were,nt there", "All I could see was a mass of people". That's gives you an idea. They literally pulled me arms and legs to come to their stall, i could not get out. My friend Leanne had to grab my arm and literally yank me out!
Yes it is good going to the less touristy side of the wall, but be wary of the vendors. I probably looked like an easy target, I am shorter than them after all. We met a man on the wall with his little dog and we said to him (refering to the dog) "Lucky he isn't dog soup"...He thought that was very funny.
I also visited the Silk Market a huge market for locals and tourists alike, get ready to bargain. You will hear things like “I will give to you Morning Price” or if in the afternoon “Afternoon Price”. Lots of rips offs they will tell you are the real deal, everything is of good quality. So no need to tell your friends back home they're not fake....
Any trip to China is not complete without visiting the Forbidden City, I seem to remember our guide say that if you were to sleep in all 9,999 rooms in you life you be something like 21 years old when you finished. Although don’t quote me, I didn’t do the math.
Fun part of the trip, everything: I especially liked bargaining. Bad things about the trip- Getting absolutely mugged by about 10 different sellers who had surrounded me and were literally trying to pull me to each of their stalls at once! also paying taxi fares. Just forget it they don’t use they meter nor can you barter with them at all. At least thats what I found. But my skills at negotiation have improved since then.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb