#107 Teaching at Taizhou Teachers College, China (Fall Semester-2008, Activities continue at TTC)


Advertisement
Asia
December 18th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Now, doesn't he look jovial??Now, doesn't he look jovial??Now, doesn't he look jovial??

I found him by accident in a small temple compound in the center of Taizhou near the Phoenix River, run by two elderly nuns. In my two years here in Taizhou, I have walked past these small temple structures many dozens of times, never realizing it was a Buddhis Temple, and what little treasures were hidden behind the gray walls. In "his" case, this treasure is a little dusty but quite "happy and "big". I am often compared to him :-)
There is no more doubt, that winter has arrived in Taizhou. Students are huddling and holding each other for warmth, as they rush to their early morning classes. The students now sport their down-winter-jackets in all the most fashionable colors, but their smiles are more temporary as they pass me on their way to "where-ever".

These colder months begin the time, when I miss the warm Florida weather the most.

Since none of the classrooms of the schools, colleges and universities are heated in my region of China, I too have to wear my sexy "long-johns", as well as additional and more serious layers of clothing to brave the cold of the teaching facilities.

I hear no complaints from my wonderful students, who must not only brave the cold of the classrooms and dining rooms, but they also return to their chilly dormitories, where I see them study with their thick layers of clothing, and their bare feet dipping in a plastic bucket of warm water.

They purchase the hot water daily in "thermos" bottles for a half a Yuan (9 cents) at a central water station at the college. It is difficult for me to imagine,
Let me continue the last blog-entry # 106, and share more colorful moments in Taizhou with you.Let me continue the last blog-entry # 106, and share more colorful moments in Taizhou with you.Let me continue the last blog-entry # 106, and share more colorful moments in Taizhou with you.

Though there have been some difficult personal times these past weeks, and we experience them all in our lifes, let me share with you the more happy hours that continue making my stay in the city of Taizhou memorable. The following 9 sets of photos highlight more of the first semester, 2008, at Taizhou Teachers College.
how our American college students would deal with such daily winter adversity, or if they would even accept this.

Many of my students here sleep in their winter jackets at night. It makes them stronger and tougher, they explain. I dare not tell them, how comfortably warm my own college apartment facilities are, when I return to my home on campus after my classes.

The lead teachers and Foreign Language administration also tell the students, that the winter chills in their dorms will make them a stronger person, and more able to deal with adversity.

I do believe, that having to focus on keeping warm, many students will not be able to concentrate on their studies, and at the moment they are preparing for another of their all-important "next" examinations, the standard National English Examinations called the CET-4 and CET-6. They are also studying hard in preparation for their final examinations in each of their courses. I can only speculate, what impact this "cold" destraction might have on their test performance.

During my stay in China, I have found few Chinese, who are prone to complaining. Most accept any hardship or adversity as fate and as
The 1st Series of Photos highlight the Japanese Festival.The 1st Series of Photos highlight the Japanese Festival.The 1st Series of Photos highlight the Japanese Festival.

The highlight of the Japanese Festival at TTC, (I covered the festival extensively in Blog entry #106), was the closing ceremony. Honored guests, including the Japanese Consul, as well as the administration, staff and students were treated to another of our college's spectacular shows.
part of their daily routine. It seems, that the hardships of my students and some difficult experiences in school provide much of that basic training for the rest of their lifes.

In the city of Taizhou and on my campus of Taizhou Teachers College I am not known as a man with a "petite" body, and now, sporting these extra layers of apparel, I truly begin to look like "the Panda Bear" or "the Happy Buddha", as my body expands by another few inches of winter-clothing.

Yet one of the benefits of the late fall and winter months in Taizhou during the day hours are unusual "clear and blue skies", though these are chilly and crisp.

During the night, the stars and moon are now more visible then during the summer season, when the air is often thick with the smoke of the open air burning of crop-residue by the farmers surrounding the city. In the winter months, it is a pleasure to see the nightly firmament, and the clear display and visibility of the stars and the moon.

But I am very contend with my present life here at Taizhou Teachers College. My students are
The 2nd Series of Photos are from another of my regular visits to our Taoist Temple in Taizhou.The 2nd Series of Photos are from another of my regular visits to our Taoist Temple in Taizhou.The 2nd Series of Photos are from another of my regular visits to our Taoist Temple in Taizhou.

Representations in form of many colorful statues of some of the Taoist Holy Diciples are honored in one of Taizhou's most wonderful temple sites.
my daily pleasure, and my college is eager to satisfy my needs. Arthur, the staff and the administration have gone to great lengths to provide me a life of comfort and satisfaction.

Not a day passes, when I don't feel, that I have made the right choice after my retirement in Miami. I am a very happy man here at our small teachers college, where I feel needed and I know I can make a difference.

There are of course the larger Chinese cities, with more notable universities and colleges, which are filled with many foreign teachers. But there I would be only one of many. Here at Taizhou Teachers College, I have the feeling, that I am appreciated and everyone makes me feel special.

AND SO: With job opportunities fading for teachers in the United States during this time of financial difficulties and crisis, I would like to take this opportinuty once again, and encourage adventurous college degree holders to consider teaching a few years in this amazing country of China.

You will be received and treated as a friend by the college, honored as a guest of China, and you will find students, who
The 3rd Series of Photos are incidental pictures of a stroll through Taizhou in the fall.The 3rd Series of Photos are incidental pictures of a stroll through Taizhou in the fall.The 3rd Series of Photos are incidental pictures of a stroll through Taizhou in the fall.

When I walk through Taizhou, I always become the object of "admiration" as one of the very few Westerners in our city. I have never seen these ladies before, but it is common to be asked to pose for photos with strangers.
will thank you daily for your time and work. The efforts and the smiles of some of the most wonderful students will be waiting for you, and their appreciation will remain with you for a life-time.

LET ME REMIND YOU: You can find information about Taizhou Teachers College at their web-site: www.tzsz.net

From that site you can contact Mr. Arthur Lee, a dedicated man, who is in charge of the recruitment of all "overseas friends", as the foreign teachers are called in China.

You may also write to Arthur directly at his personal e-mail: Arthurlee65@yahoo.com.cn . He is my friend, and the most wonderful Foreign Affairs Director of Taizhou Teachers College. He will answer all questions and thoughts you may have with professional care and with his superb English.

You can also contact me at this TravelBlog site, and I will forward your letter to Arthur for you.

I leave you with this thought of a possible adventure at Taizhou Teachers College:

"The only people who will ever succeed are those, who are willing to take a chance!"
______________________________________________

*****The photo - essay of this TravelBlog #107 is a continuation of events these
The 4th Series of Photos introduce the smallest of Buddhist Temples in the center of Taizhou.The 4th Series of Photos introduce the smallest of Buddhist Temples in the center of Taizhou.The 4th Series of Photos introduce the smallest of Buddhist Temples in the center of Taizhou.

On one of my walks along the Phoenix River of Taizhou, I thought I would open a closed gate to a tiny compound, and found a wonderful Buddhist Temple Treasure. I did not know it existed. It is run by two nuns, who were surprised to see a visitor from the West. I don't think they ever expect any visitor to this petite and beautiful shrine.
past few months at my college and continues the presentations of the last TravelBlog, #106.

I have been very busy, and there are a dozen Blogs of some of my travels around China this past year that I have not been able to publish. I will share these with you soon. It takes much time to compile each of these Blogs, and I hope they continue to entertain you, and provide you with some insight into my wonderful "late-life" adventures in China. Remember, these same adventures could be waiting for you as well.

Here is the breakdown of the photo-essay for this Blog:

Part One: The photos continue to relate the festivities of our colorful Japanese Festival during it's final evening, with another spectacular presentation by our students and staff.

Part Two: During one of my many walks, I found another temple in Taizhou. This is a Taoist Temple and a wonderful Taizhou treasure. I have made friends with some of the Taoist monks, and plan to visit the temple-site regularly with my camera.

Part Three: Here I hope to share with you some incidental photos, as I walked the city of Taizhou during the
The 5th Series of Photos highlight an aerobic competition between some of Taizhou's Colleges.The 5th Series of Photos highlight an aerobic competition between some of Taizhou's Colleges.The 5th Series of Photos highlight an aerobic competition between some of Taizhou's Colleges.

Posing here is the Aerobic team from Nanjing Normal University, Taizhou Campus. I taught at this college this past school year, and some of the team members still remembered me.
past few months.

Part Four: These photos highlight a few participants of an Aerobic competition in the Sporttorium of TTC. My lap-top, which stores most of my photos, has broken down, and will not open. So there are many photos about this competition I am not able to share with you at the moment.

Part Five: These photos highlight the entertainment offered to the Freshmen by the Art Department students of TTC. Though I don't teach any of these students, many have sought me out and have become my friends. It gives them the opportunity to practice a little English with me, an opportunity they miss, so they tell me. They never forget to invite me to one of their colorful events.

Part Six: This Holloween I received an invitation to a newly opened and private English Academy in the center of Taizhou. The evening was a wonderful time with some of the local children, who are eager to learn English. Their parents pay a handsome sum of money to provide additional English lessons for their "one" child in hopes of giving them the advantage as they progress in their schooling. I have mentioned to you before,
The 6th Series of Photos show the Art Department entertaining the new Freshmen.The 6th Series of Photos show the Art Department entertaining the new Freshmen.The 6th Series of Photos show the Art Department entertaining the new Freshmen.

When the Art Department puts on a performance for our school, is is always something special.
that English is taught in all schools beginning with the first grade of school.

Part Seven: Another Wedding Invitation by one of our teachers gives me the opportunity to share with you the happy day of another pair of newly-weds. The weddings in China now incorporate traditional customs with some of our western traditions.

Thank you for taking the time to share my life here in China with me. Keeping in mind, that the Christmas days are only weeks away, I am now preparing the next TravelBlog, which will highlight some of my Christmas activities at the college and in the city.

I am always grateful for your comments, questions, ideas and suggestions to improve my communication with you and look forward with appreciation to your thoughts and even a greeting.

As always, I encourage you to enlarge the 107 photos for their greater details.









Additional photos below
Photos: 107, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

The 7th Series of Photos take us to Halloween-evening at a local English Academy.The 7th Series of Photos take us to Halloween-evening at a local English Academy.
The 7th Series of Photos take us to Halloween-evening at a local English Academy.

The "white horn" on this little green man became a little dangerous.
The 8th Series of Photos introduces one of TTC's great student artists.The 8th Series of Photos introduces one of TTC's great student artists.
The 8th Series of Photos introduces one of TTC's great student artists.

These young talented TTC art students often invite me into their classroom and are eager to teach me some Chinese Calligraphy.
The 9th Series of Photos capture another wedding in Taizhou.The 9th Series of Photos capture another wedding in Taizhou.
The 9th Series of Photos capture another wedding in Taizhou.

The young teachers from TTC are always so gracious, and regularly invite me to their weddings.
Lets begin with the "Closing Ceremony" of the Japanese Festival at TTC, the final evening.Lets begin with the "Closing Ceremony" of the Japanese Festival at TTC, the final evening.
Lets begin with the "Closing Ceremony" of the Japanese Festival at TTC, the final evening.

Colorful, exciting, and filled with talent is the only way I can describe the presentation by our student-body, as our college closes a week of activities, that brought the Chinese and Japanese cultures closer.
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #1Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #1
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #1

From left to right: The other English teacher, Stef; Mrs. and Mr. Kim, the Korean teachers; and the "happy Buddha".
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #2Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #2
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #2

Three of my students wait patiently for their boyfriends performance during the rehearsal evening.
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #3Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #3
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #3

This young man is a master of the traditional and ancient, two-stringed Chinese instrument called the "Erhue" . He is now taking the time to teach me the basics. Though it only has two strings, it is known to be the most difficult Chinese musical-instrument to master. I can now attest to that fact.
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #4Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #4
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #4

Vivian is one of the early arrivals for the rehearsal evening. She is one of our gifted English teachers and a great friend.
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #5Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #5
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #5

Jeff is another of our wonderful English teachers and we have shared many happy moments together on our campus.
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #6Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #6
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #6

The President of the Student Union of TTC and the Director of the evenings rehearsal-performance pose together.
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #7Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #7
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #7

One of our school's beautiful dance students poses with her handsome admirer.
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #8Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #8
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #8

They are tuning their "Erhue", the Chinese two string instrument with the haunting and seductive sound.
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #9Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #9
Closing Ceremony of Japanese Festival at TTC, Photo #9

Two of TTC's best dancers take a rest from their practice and enjoy the sounds of the Erhue.


18th December 2008

scenes from school
I always enjoy seeing the faces of your students - so hopeful and hard-working. I sent an email recently- hope you received it(regarding a Christmas gift I want to make for you). I know you are so busy but these scenes of Taizhou are always so enjoyable! A Taoist temple in the heart of Taizhou - who knew?
18th December 2008

Happy Every Single Day!
Happy Every Single Day!
18th December 2008

Lieber Hans, Ich vermisse dich! Deine, Sandra
18th December 2008

Merry Christmas
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! So glad you are enjoying your life in China - the pictures are wonderful. Pennie
19th December 2008

Hello! Hans!
I haven't seen our photos in U blog! Why? But It's very nice!
20th December 2008

You've done it again!
Hi Hans, yet another wonderful blog that brings so many cherished memories of my time at TTC flooding back! As usual you have pipped me at the post. I've been working on my next blog but it still needs a lot of work. You have now motivated me to finish it this weekend before Xmas! P.S. Sorry to hear about your laptop, that's such a frustrating thing to happen at any time, but especially at this time of year. Hugs to all at TTC. Xmas emails coming soon too! Suexxx
20th December 2008

holiday doldrums
I always enjoy your blogs. They remind me of my own year in China. I do think about returning. I do remember the doldrums around Christmas when I most missed my family and close friends. I had to think of ways to give more to raise my spirits. I gave people copies of the photos I had taken of them--people I saw in the streets all the time. I hope you have happy holidays. Susan
1st January 2009

the first time to see your blog
This is my first time to see your blog, from which I know more about Taizhou. Although in several months I will gratuatoin and leave this place, I think I will miss this place.Hans, happy new year!
9th January 2009

Yeh, the air of Taizhou was pretty chocky, particularly during those biomass residue-burning seasons, when the stars were completely obscured in the night-sky. Very pleased that the sky is blue during winter time. Hope the government will do something about it, for the sake of all its people.

Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 14; qc: 127; dbt: 0.1996s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb