Hoi An


Advertisement
Asia
December 20th 2005
Published: December 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Such as lovely small city, once a trading port. Many cultural influences from the Japanese, Chinese, French and Vietnamese, with architecture to reflect those cultures. On our walking tour we went into Chinese temples, across a Japanese covered bridge, into a wooden Vietnamese 2-story home, and had a tour of a silk worm factory. Never knew how the worms made silk: once they are in the pupa stage, they are placed in hot water to kill the moth inside, and then the silk is just unravelled in a long thread. This town is being restored, building by building, for tourism certainly, but it is also a living town with merchants, fishermen, restaurants and many resorts. Our resort is the Victoria Beach Resort, right on the beach, but the surf this time of year is unswimmable, and very rough. We have a wonderful pool as well, but it's cold and rainy. The hotel is Japanese style architecture, with high ceilings in the rooms, dark wooden floors, Japanese wooden furniture and a lovely king size bed with white duvet covers. There is also a gym I used this a.m. and a spa for which I have treatments scheduled after lunch. So, I am off to continue the hard life of the tourist. Happy holidays to you all. You can respond to my e-mails on this site too!

Advertisement



20th December 2005

Thank you, Dennis!
Yay! Following Dennis's instructions I'm able to read your fabulous journal. Donna, you should hire out as a travel writer; your descriptions of each stop are so vivid. I'm dying to see the photos when you get back too. Gee, I was waiting for spa life to pop up....wouldn't be Donna D's travels without it...and thee it was. Okay, now I know it's you doing the writing, traveling, etc. Love back to you. Merry Christmas week! I will continue to check in as one of your envious un-retired friends. xox pat
20th December 2005

Hoi An
I love the things you choose to write about. Your descriptions are so good. I do wish you'd write more about what you're eating. Are you sticking to hotels and upscale places? Do the eateries have A,B,C signs in the windows (just joking.)? I showed Faige how to log onto you blog so you may be hearing from her soon. Read you later, M

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb