Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
July 14th 2017
Published: July 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

My couchsurfing host was going to pick me up from the airport. I gave his name and number to one of my close friends just in case he was a serial killer. We drove for about an hour and twenty minutes in his motorcycle. First day and I was already getting the classic Vietnam experience! I arrived late at night so he just took me to the apartment I was going to sleep in for the night. He didn't live in that apartment it was just his work space. He lived with his parents so I had the apartment all to myself! Another big win for couchsurfing! Free airport pickup, free bed, plus free tour guide!

Weather in Ha Noi was perfect. It was rather chilly at night. Though it was May which is summer in Vietnam. It felt like spring! Ha toured me around his city from morning 'til late in the afternoon. I was sooo friggin tired by the end of the day. I've had a few friends warn me about pick pockets but I felt very safe being with a local. He didn't speak much English and wanted to practice that's why he started hosting. I was his first guest. I hope I was a good guest so he'll keep hosting! I offered to pay for the parking tickets and his entrance tickets but he wouldn't take it. I am not used to getting free stuff so that was rather uncomfortable for me but I embraced the idea of giving others the chance to be generous and selfless.

The next morning I got on a sleeper but to Sa Pa. It was my first time on a sleeper bus that had beds instead of seats. I hope airplanes were like that! I think they'd be able to fit in more people that way.

It was just after the harvest season so the famous rice terraces of Sa Pa were brown rather than green. But I imagined it would have been so pretty if I came in the right season. I've seen rice terraces in the Philippines and Bali but this one was vast! The town of Sa Pa itself was not pretty. I meant to stay longer but there wasn't anything more I wanted to see so I left the next night. And it was a national holiday long weekend so there were tons of local tourists.

I booked a sleeper bus to Cat Ba. First I had to ride a van to go down to Lao Cai. The Vietnamese girl who sat next to me got extremely car sick. The driver actually gave plastic bags to everyone before driving down to Lao Cai. I wondered what it was for. Then later I realized that that's for if you're gonna throw up. I think that girl used at least ten plastic bags. I did't know that car sickness was a thing. I only get that when I read while the car is running. Anyway it was super gross and I was glad when we finally arrive in Lao Cai.

I was the only foreigner in the van and Vietnam has the most difficult language barrier in Southeast Asia. I was surprised when I was told via sign language to ride another van. An old van with no aircon. I was aghast! I protested that I booked a sleeper bus! But they didn't speak English. The woman at the counter just gave me the universal sleep sign language and said ten hours. What! Ten hours sitting in a van with no AC! How the hell was I supposed to sleep? I thought I was screwed. My back would hurt so bad in the morning. After about 30 minutes we arrived at a bus station and I saw a sleeper bus. Boy was I glad!

It was a sixteen hour journey with five transfers including a ferry before I got to Cat Ba island. I booked an island hopping tour for the next day and it was only $17. I walked around at night and a motorbike taxi driver called me and made an okay sign with his right hand then put his left forefinger in and out of the hole in his okay sign. Get the picture? He was offering me a hooker. Also happened to me in Ha Noi.

I met some really cool people the next day. By cool I mean they didn't invite me to take drugs! We all got along very well and I was glad I finally found people I was very comfortable with. Ha Long bay did not meet my expectations. The karst stone islands sure were pretty. But there was also a lot of garbage, the water was not clear, and the sky was overcast. They don't get a lot of sunny days in north Vietnam I learned later.

The next day we rented motorcycles to get around the island. It may have been over eight years since the last time I rode a motorcycle. And I only did that once and only for about half an hour! So I had to learn how to drive a motorbike again and drive it all day that day. I was rather nervous but at the end of the day I did just fine. All I got was a wrist sprain after a whole day of driving a motorbike for the entire day. I really enjoyed Cat Ba. I had good company and there were lots of things to see. I even enjoyed driving! A new roommate I had that night snored like a cow. It was LOUD! I didn't know women could snore that loudly. One of my other roommates transferred to another room the following night. I should've too. I need to learn how to be more assertive and expect more.

I parted ways with my new friends the next day and I went back to Ha Noi. I went to church on my last day and got invited to their potluck. Lot's of great food! I really enjoyed my time in Vietnam. I only got to explore the north part so I want to go back one day to explore the central and southern parts of the country. There's a lot more to see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



18th July 2017
Halong bay

I never went to the north
I went to Vietnam in the mid 90-ies. I spent about a month there and travelled a lot in the south and the central part of the country. I didn't have time to go to the north so I never went to Ha Long Bay. It's on the bucket list though. /Ake
18th July 2017
Halong bay

I never went to the north
and I'd love to see the central and south! will definitely go back :)

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 24; qc: 101; dbt: 0.114s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb