All I want for Christmas...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
November 24th 2012
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 22.3653, 103.791

Well it's fast approaching that time of year again and the turkey's getting fat, Christmas trees and decorations are displayed in their elaborate fashions while the mistletoe is hung, in preparation for the festivities to begin. The shopping is always a thought, but before you spend all your hard earned cash, I'd like to ask that you give a thought this Christmas, in particular, to the street children in Nepal. To witness their poverty was heartbreaking but to see their lives being transformed by just-one was nothing short of a miracle, so this Christmas-time please help to enable this miracle to continue.

While I was staying in Kathmandu back in January, a friend suggested cycling from China to Australia and I jumped at the chance of maybe being able to join them. It immediately struck a chord with me as something I could strive to achieve and at the same time be motivated by trying to raise funds for just-one after witnessing first-hand only some of their incredible success stories.

Things change though and I am now cycling on my own, although I have started my quest to Oz I have decided to dedicate cycling from Hanoi to Ho Chi
Minh city in Vietnam (approx. 1,800 km) starting December 2012 to help raise money and awareness for this cause and I hope you will help me. The thought of being able to help just-one will keep me on track, giving me something to focus on this Christmas-time while away from my own family and friends.

Probably one of the hardest lessons I had to learn while in Nepal was that giving directly to these children is selfish, as fulfilling the need to show compassion to the poverty that you witness, actually keeps these children on the streets – providing them with a livelihood but depriving them of education. just-one gives these children a different path to go down if they choose, providing support in getting them off the street and into education. In most situations the family unit has broken down which makes the Counselling, Rehabilitation, Family Support and Empowerment provided by just-one indispensable tools in getting families back together and back on track.

So why not help me this Christmas to support just-one and bring the true meaning of Christmas and family spirit back to life. If you can help me, even in the smallest of ways, to reach my target of €5,000, please donate by clicking here and know that you'll be helping change children's lives for the better!


Merry Christmas to One and All,

Clare xxx
just-one


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb