En route to Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
March 28th 2012
Published: March 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">Wednesday 28th March 2012:

A very quiet day today as Richard has caught another bug (the 4th one between us now) so it’s been a day for every cold remedy the shop on board sells and some sleep this afternoon, having not managed to get much last night.

I had a mild shock today when I was reading the blurb about our trip ashore in Bangkok as it says that, in order to go inside the palace grounds, I have to have my shoulders, knees and ankles covered and I am not allowed to wear trousers. As a person who only ever wears trousers, this is a challenge especially as I haven’t packed a skirt. So I spent most of my morning trying to make a floor-length skirt out of a pair of trackie bots and a cut up sarong from Samoa. But even after hours of unpicking and hand sewing, it only ever got to look like a pair of cut up trackie bots and a piece from a sarong. The ship doesn’t sell any long skirts so in Bangkok I could well be the only tourist wearing an evening dress under a shirt! Even though I will certainly feel, and probably look, somewhat odd, there is nothing going to keep me out of the palace. Think ‘The King and I’ and you have the old Siamese palace in what is now Bangkok. I’m going!

Advertisement



28th March 2012

Hope that Richard is much improved I really really want to see photos of what you are wearing Claire for your visit to the palace. As it is a palace I think evening wear is very much the thing to wear.( I would have said de riguer but couldn't spell it)

Tot: 0.437s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb