Kitesurfing Capital of Somewhere. Beaches, Mojitos, and windy Mui Ne.


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast
June 4th 2010
Published: June 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

There is gloriously little to report from my past few days. I've been three nights in Mui Ne now, being blown by the breeze or bashed by the waves to smithereens, then recovering on the white, sandy beaches.

Since it was too windy to go windsurfing (for a beginner) the other day, I booked for the next morning with an Eastern European man at Jibe's named Drakor or Draco or something along those lines. I was warned by someone at another school he teaches with a firm, demanding manner, but it didn't quite prepare me for the full-on Eastern European tactics he employed. There was little explanation, and I figured most things out by knowing I was still wrong when he continued to yell at me (without instruction) and just kept changing feet or hand positions until he stopped yelling. Vague directions like, 'up', 'forward', and 'what are you doing!' were the ones I got yelled at me the most.
It was fun though, and I got some great waves, though thoroughly exhausted myself. My teacher also kept grabbing my sunburned shoulders to correct my posture, and even when I whimpered after telling him twice I was sunburned, he continued with his Stalinist tactics. I think he could be a good teacher, unfortunately, I imagine his methods are bad for business as few people are going to pay $45/hr to be yelled at in such a way while they're on vacation.

Anyways, I only lasted an hour before I called it a day, then went back to my resort for a nap. When I woke up, it was mojito and beach time. I only lasted 10 minutes in the waves, before I was tired of choking on seawater. The waves were just brutal...

Anyways, went to get my laundry back at Wave Champs too, and ran into the guys. Going to dinner and drinks later....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb