No More Tickle Me Elmo


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
September 9th 2006
Published: September 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dinner at the Royal Revolving Restaurant-Dinner at the Royal Revolving Restaurant-Dinner at the Royal Revolving Restaurant-

Total came to 10.44 U.S. Primo

Back in Nam



It occured to me today- that I can legitamately utter that phrase


Sadly

when entering Vietnam I had to depart with my tickle me elmo. He was keeping me company on my long journey from home- laughing at my stupid jokes- commiserating with me when I couldn't speak the native tongue- and elmo just laughed it off when I punched him, even took it well when I accidently ran him over. I will miss the soothing laugh. But as per my agreement on my Visa and entry into vietnam, along with my drugs and guns, I had to do away with "any children's toys that promoted unhealthy social development"

Ah yes Vietnam.

But alas, I have something to fill the void



AS most cliche utterers will tell you (I'm no different) money doesn't buy you happiness- but today I pulled a million out of the bank- and I feel pretty darn good. I'm burning through it though- spent about 180,000 on a custom tailored shirt- translation- 12 US dollars. For a handmade shirt! Supreme

The point has been made though- Asia is cheap- and Vietnam is the best so far. It
LeftoversLeftoversLeftovers

From Chao Dac- SAM Mountain Temple
also has the worst network of roads I have ever been on. In all honestly- the seven hour busride yesterday was worse and probably more physically taxing than when we wrecked two days earlier.


We visited two rooftops today- the royal revolving restaurant- and the other- the highest building in Saigon- The Trade Center. I like to think my good friend Billy McHale visited- with his favorite designer- she must have said "hrmm random painted bricks- and lets frame some pictures of icecream"



On the docket




Ciao


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

People Taking PicturesPeople Taking Pictures
People Taking Pictures

Kind of boring yes- but not as boring as what they were taking pictures of. We went to Unification Palace on our touristy day- and these people could not get enough of the carpeted empty rooms. Tourists...
How to deal with the busride from hell-How to deal with the busride from hell-
How to deal with the busride from hell-

This was honestly a worse ride than when our bus crashed.
Ugly BricksUgly Bricks
Ugly Bricks

OK another semipointless picture- but the design scheme in the highest building in Saigon is gross.
Saigon SkylineSaigon Skyline
Saigon Skyline

From the top of the Trade Center- oddly I wasn't allowed to take pictures in the lobby.
Industrial BuddhaIndustrial Buddha
Industrial Buddha

Also at the Pagoda Palace
Night-time Skyscape SaigonNight-time Skyscape Saigon
Night-time Skyscape Saigon

From our dinner location- it was a small scale version of the space needle- 1RPH
Sam at lunchSam at lunch
Sam at lunch

For the entirety of the trip- I have not been able to pace Sam on eating- Today I freakin rocked him- Certain factors that "kept sam" from proper inhalation included severe indigestion- can't say I didn't expect it.


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb