Six months in southern Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
November 25th 2013
Published: April 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hanoi_girl in Sài Gòn - April 2013Hanoi_girl in Sài Gòn - April 2013Hanoi_girl in Sài Gòn - April 2013

I was standing by a swimming pool of the City Garden in Bình Thạnh district. I lost 12kg since last August as a result of traveling too much. Now I am slim again.
2013 is a special year as I decided to move and live in southern Vietnam. When I stepped my foot at Tân Sơn Nhất airport last February, I had no idea where my life would go. It is already six months since I lived here. Six months are not a long time, but for me it was the longest time I was out of Hanoi. During this period, I made two trips abroad and five trips to 11 provinces of southern Vietnam. I have fulfilled my dream of seeing all the 63 provinces of Vietnam. I also published many blogs when I was traveling on the road. My parents cried when I said I had no plan to go back to Hanoi anytime soon. They only wanted me to be around them. So far, I have enjoyed traveling and living in southern Vietnam. The weather here is pleasant and good for my health. It's hot during the day, but cool at night. March and April are the hottest months in southern Vietnam. I got much sunburned as I've spent much time walking out in the sun. The southern girls wear thick coats to protect themselves from the sun. I often wear
Sunset over the citySunset over the citySunset over the city

View from the City Garden, Bình Thạnh district
a long sleeve shirt and could feel my arms burning, as the sun is very strong during the day. Anyway, it's still not too hot or too cold same like in Hanoi. The rainy season lasts 5 to 6 months, but the rain only lasts a few hours and the sun shines again.

It is strange, I don't miss Hanoi. Sometimes I think about my 7-year-old nephew, my parents and some favorite food. Whenever I see sunset somewhere in southern Vietnam, it always reminds me of the North West mountain region which I made 3 trips to last year. I remember the beautiful sunset with mountain scenery and red clouds on the day I was stuck on the road to Sìn Hồ town (Lai Châu province) because of the landslide last September, and many great experiences with the ethnic minority people. I still keep so many great memories of the landscapes and people I met over there.

There are some challenges for me in Sài Gòn. I am still struggling with spicy food and traffic. It is so crowded and local people ride motorbikes very fast. My Swedish brother-in-law is brave enough to drive a car here, so
Vietnamese souvenirsVietnamese souvenirsVietnamese souvenirs

Vietnamese souvenirs sold at Bến Thành market, District 1.
I think if I have to go by motorbike, I will be alright, even though I will ride motorbike very slowly. Before going south, I was worried about robbery, for example, camera, bag or mobile phone snatching. So far, I have had no problem, but I need to be careful at anytime.

Now I still spend my time with northerners, so I still speak Vietnamese with my native northern accent and use northern words. I guess if I live here for many years, my voice will be softer same like the southerners and I will use the same words as they do. Hanoian accent is clear and standard, while southern accent is soft and sweet to ears. What I like about the southerners is that they show more respect to private life of other people. Whenever I say "I am single", nobody cares or judges me.

Since I started my adventure in the south, everyday was a new experience. I used to dream of living somewhere out of Hanoi and I had this opportunity. I have been to so many interesting places, some of them I saw many years ago and re-visited to see how they have changed.
My Vietnamese Swedish nephewMy Vietnamese Swedish nephewMy Vietnamese Swedish nephew

My nephew Kevin is half Vietnamese and half Swedish. This shot was taken in April 2013 when he was 4 months old and 9.4kg in weight. He was looking at my camera with curiosity.
There were so many people I met on the road during the past six months. I talked with different people to know about their lives and I also got so much care and help from strangers. I met two Vietnamese boys traveling by bus with their fighting cocks (one of favorite games in southern Vietnam). I was invited by local people, Vietnamese and foreign tourists to have meals or drinks with them. An old couple on Hòn Tre island offered me free stay at their house. A poor Khmer family in Trà Vinh invited me to come in their house and offered me a glass of tea. A friendly bus driver and conductor in Bảo Lộc stopped the bus several times so that I could take photos of a reservoir and flowers. A porter on Phú Quý island invited me coconut juice when I passed by his house, and so many friendly people I met on this island waved goodbye to me when I left. I also traveled by school bus and spent time with pupils in Kê Gà. A motorbike taxi driver in Đà Lạt refused to take my tip when I gave him more money than he asked.
The City Garden in Bình Thạnh districtThe City Garden in Bình Thạnh districtThe City Garden in Bình Thạnh district

My sister lives in this place and I stayed with her during my visit to Sài Gòn. The apartments here are expensive. There are swimming pools for adults and children.
When I bought food or gave money to beggars, old and disabled people, they were very touched and said "thank you" with sincerity. A beach guard in Vũng Tàu showed me around the city and others offered me free motorbike ride when they saw me walking alone in the sun.

Six months in southern Vietnam were interesting time of my life. I look forward to more adventure and new experiences in the coming time. I prefer living in the beach cities like Nha Trang and Vũng Tàu.

The photos in this blog were taken at the City Garden of Bình Thạnh district where my sister lives, Gymboree art & music school for children (I followed my sister and nephew to this school), the Museum of History, Bến Thành market with lots of Vietnamese souvenirs, and Saigon Skydeck on the 49th floor of Bitexco Financial Tower (the highest tower in Sài Gòn which is 262m in height with 68 floors and has lotus shape).

Sáu tháng ở miền Nam (năm 2013)


2013 là một năm thật đặc biệt vì tôi quyết định chuyển đến sống ở miền Nam. Khi tôi đặt chân xuống sân bay Tân
Me by a pool of the City GardenMe by a pool of the City GardenMe by a pool of the City Garden

There are some old factories next to the City Garden.
Sơn Nhất vào tháng 2, tôi không biết được cuộc sống mới của tôi ở đây sẽ như thế nào. Vậy là tôi đã ở miền Nam được 6 tháng. Sáu tháng không phải là một khoảng thời gian dài, nhưng với tôi thì đó là khoảng thời gian dài nhất mà tôi không ở Hà Nội. Trong khoảng thời gian đó, tôi đã có 2 chuyến đi ra nước ngoài và 5 chuyến đi đến 11 tỉnh của miền Nam. Tôi đã thực hiện được ước mơ đặt chân đến tất cả 63 tỉnh thành của Việt Nam. Cũng trong khoảng thời gian đó, tôi đã viết nhiều blog từ những địa danh khác nhau trên những con đường mà tôi đã đi qua. Cha mẹ tôi đã khóc khi tôi nói là không biết đến khi nào tôi mới quay trở lại Hà Nội. Họ chỉ muốn tôi sống ở Hà Nội cùng với họ. Cho đến giờ thì tôi cảm thấy thích cuộc sống ở phương Nam. Thời tiết ở đây rất dễ chịu và tốt cho sức khỏe của tôi. Ban ngày trời nóng, nhưng đến tối thì mát mẻ. Tháng 3 và tháng 4 là
My nephew Kevin at the music classMy nephew Kevin at the music classMy nephew Kevin at the music class

My sister (who wore dress) and her son were playing a game at the music class for children (Gymboree).
hai tháng nóng nhất trong năm, sau đó là đến mùa mưa. Tôi đã bị bắt nắng rất nhiều và có làn da nâu do ở ngoài trời quá nhiều. Các cô gái ở miền Nam thường mặc những chiếc áo khoác dày để chống nắng. Tôi chỉ mặc áo dài tay và có thể cảm nhận thấy nắng chiếu rát cả hai cánh tay. Dẫu sao thì thời tiết ở đây cũng rất ôn hòa, không quá nóng hay quá lạnh như ở Hà Nội. Kể cả vào mùa mưa thì trời cũng chỉ mưa một lát rồi lại nắng.

Thật kỳ lạ, tôi không cảm thấy nhớ Hà Nội, ngoại trừ đôi khi tôi nghĩ về cháu trai 7 tuổi mà tôi rất yêu quý, cha mẹ và những món ăn yêu thích. Mỗi khi nhìn thấy hoàng hôn ở một nơi nào đó của phương Nam, tôi lại nhớ đến vùng núi Tây Bắc, nơi mà tôi đã đến thăm 3 lần vào mùa thu năm ngoái. Tôi nhớ khung cảnh tuyệt đẹp của mây và núi lúc ráng chiều khi xe khách của tôi bị kẹt ở trên đường đến Sìn Hồ của tỉnh Lai
Cơm Hến (rice with tiny oyster meat)Cơm Hến (rice with tiny oyster meat)Cơm Hến (rice with tiny oyster meat)

Huế city's food at Nam Giao restaurant, District 1.
Châu do sạt lở đất vào tháng 9 năm ngoái, và còn biết bao nhiêu những kỉ niệm đẹp với những người dân tộc thiểu số ở vùng cao. Tôi vẫn còn lưu giữ trong tâm trí của mình những ký ức thật đẹp về phong cảnh và con người mà tôi đã gặp ở đó.

Khi ở Sài Gòn, tôi gặp một số vấn đề, ví dụ như không thể ăn được đồ ăn cay. Nhìn chung thì đồ ăn ở miền Nam ngon và khá rẻ. Tôi nghĩ là Hà Nội bây giờ là nơi đắt đỏ nhất cả nước. Về giao thông thì mật độ người và xe rất đông và mọi người cũng phóng xe rất nhanh. Em rể người Thụy Điển của tôi đủ can đảm để lái xe ở thành phố đông đúc này, nên tôi nghĩ là nếu đi bằng xe máy thì tôi cũng vẫn có thể làm được, chỉ có điều là tôi sẽ đi rất chậm. Trước khi đi vào miền Nam, tôi cũng rất lo ngại về vấn đề an ninh, đặc biệt là cướp điện thoại, túi xách và máy ảnh. Cho đến giờ thì tôi không có vấn đề gì, nhưng dù sao thì vẫn phải luôn cẩn thận.

Hiện giờ thì tôi vẫn giao tiếp với nhiều người miền Bắc, nên tôi vẫn giữ nguyên giọng nói và từ ngữ gốc của mình. Nếu tôi sống ở đây trong nhiều năm, có lẽ là giọng nói của tôi sẽ khác và tôi cũng sẽ phải dùng nhiều từ ngữ của người miền Nam. Một điều mà tôi rất thích ở người miền Nam là họ luôn tôn trọng cuộc sống riêng tư của người khác. Khi tôi nói là còn độc thân thì không ai quan tâm và phán xét tôi. Mỗi khi đi ăn ở các nhà hàng hoặc mua một món đồ thì bao giờ người miền Nam cũng nói lời cảm ơn.

Kể từ khi tôi bắt đầu chuyến đi của mình đến phương Nam, mỗi ngày là một trải nghiệm mới mẻ. Tôi từng mơ ước được sống ở một nơi nào đó ngoài Hà Nội và đây là một cơ hội. Trong sáu tháng ở miền Nam, tôi đã đi đến rất nhiều nơi, trong đó có một số nơi mà tôi đã đến thăm từ cách đây
Vietnamese souvenirsVietnamese souvenirsVietnamese souvenirs

Vietnamese souvenirs sold at Bến Thành market, District 1.
15-20 năm và bây giờ mới có dịp quay trở lại. Tôi cũng đã gặp rất nhiều người ở những nơi mà tôi đã đi qua. Trò chuyện với mọi người là cách để hiểu biết thêm về cuộc sống của người dân ở những vùng đất khác. Không chỉ có vậy, tôi còn nhận được rất nhiều sự quan tâm và giúp đỡ của mọi người. Tôi gặp hai cậu bé người Việt mang theo hai con gà chọi trên xe khách (chọi gà là một thú vui của người phương Nam). Tôi được rất nhiều người dân, khách du lịch và cả người nước ngoài mời ăn cơm hoặc uống nước cùng với họ. Hai cô chú ở trên đảo Hòn Tre còn sẵn lòng cho tôi chỗ ở qua đêm miễn phí ở nhà của cô chú. Một gia đình người Khmer rất nghèo ở Trà Vinh mời tôi vào nhà uống nước khi tôi đi ngang qua nhà của họ. Anh lái xe và phụ xe thân thiện ở Bảo Lộc dừng xe cho tôi chụp ảnh hồ chứa nước và hoa cây thanh long. Một người cửu vạn ở đảo Phú Quý mời tôi vào
Saigon Skydeck - Bitexco towerSaigon Skydeck - Bitexco towerSaigon Skydeck - Bitexco tower

City view from the 49th floor of the highest tower in Sài Gòn. Bitexco Financial Tower is 262m in height with 68 floors, lotus shape.
nhà uống nước dừa và rất nhiều người dân thân thiện ở trên đảo này vẫy chào tạm biệt khi tôi lên tàu quay trở về đất liền. Tôi cũng đi bằng xe đưa đón học sinh cùng các em nhỏ ở Kê Gà. Người lái xe ôm ở Đà Lạt từ chối nhận thêm tiền mà tôi đưa cho ông sau khi ông chở tôi ra bến xe. Khi tôi mua đồ ăn hoặc cho tiền người ăn xin, người già và người tàn tật, họ rất cảm động và cảm ơn tôi với sự chân thành. Cậu bé làm nghề cứu hộ trên bãi biển ở Vũng Tàu chở tôi đi thăm quan thành phố lúc về đêm và những người khác thì sẵn sàng cho tôi đi nhờ xe khi họ nhìn thấy tôi đi bộ dưới trời nắng gắt.

Sáu tháng ở miền Nam là một khoảng thời gian thú vị trong cuộc đời tôi. Tôi hy vọng sẽ tiếp tục có thêm những trải nghiệm mới nữa. Tôi thích sống ở những thành phố biển như Nha Trang và Vũng Tàu.

Các bức ảnh trong blog này được chụp tại khu căn hộ
Vietnamese souvenirsVietnamese souvenirsVietnamese souvenirs

Vietnamese souvenirs sold at Bến Thành market, District 1.
cao cấp City Garden của quận Bình Thạnh là nơi em gái tôi đang ở, trường Gymboree cho trẻ em học nhạc và các trò chơi (tôi đi theo em gái và cháu trai của tôi đến đây), Viện bảo tàng Lịch sử, chợ Bến Thành với các món đồ lưu niệm, và Saigon Skydeck (nơi ngắm toàn cảnh Sài Gòn) trên tầng 49 của tòa tháp Bitexco cao nhất Sài Gòn (tòa tháp này cao 262m với 68 tầng và có hình bông sen).


Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 33


Advertisement

Me by a swimming poolMe by a swimming pool
Me by a swimming pool

The City Garden, Bình Thạnh district
Gymboree art & music school for childrenGymboree art & music school for children
Gymboree art & music school for children

It's an expensive school for children.
Nem lụi (grilled pork & rice papers)Nem lụi (grilled pork & rice papers)
Nem lụi (grilled pork & rice papers)

Huế city's food at Nam Giao restaurant, District 1.
Vietnamese perfumeVietnamese perfume
Vietnamese perfume

Vietnamese perfume sold at the Central Post Office of the city.
View from Saigon Skydeck of BitexcoView from Saigon Skydeck of Bitexco
View from Saigon Skydeck of Bitexco

Bitexco is the highest tower in Sài Gòn at present. US$10 (VND 200,000) for a ticket to get to the 49th floor of the tower and see the city view.
Guava sold on a street of the cityGuava sold on a street of the city
Guava sold on a street of the city

Outside the water puppet theater.


8th April 2013

Hi Hong Ha, Your nephew is so cute & chubby :) Great view of Sai Gon from Skydeck. Take care.

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb