Trang, my new Vietnamese bestie!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
September 7th 2012
Published: September 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I nearly had a cardiac arrest whilst on the motorbike taxi from the bus station, there are no rules on how to drive, its each to their own and whoever gets in a place first wins! It was mayhem, I thought I was sure to die a number of times!!

So I thought I would do a bit of Couch Surfing while I am in Hoi Chin Min city. I stayed at Trangs home for 2 nights and what a pleasure it was. She made me feel so welcome, it was like chilling with an old friend. On the first day, she gave me directions to get to Downtown by bus and how to get back, writing down her address. I then set off to explore Hoi Chin Min City, formerly Saigon! It was so busy, motorbikes everywhere and many, many people!

Trying to find my way back home was amusing. I get on the bus and show the driver where I need to get off. everyone else on the bus takes the piece of paper that Trang wrote her address on, has a peak and then gives it back to me. When it came to the road that Trang lived on, the entire bus is counting down the door numbers, before they all shout, this is the stop you want!! It was so sweet and I saw a different side to the Vietnamese people, which was much more pleasurable.

Trang took me to a Vietnamese Jazz bar, which was great and did fab cocktails. The following day I visited the Cu chi tunnels ( what the communists used to defeat the Americans) and a weird but fascinating temple for a religion that was very new to me (Caudai). It was very surreal, watching them pray at their 2nd Pray session of the day.

My last night Trang cooked me an amazing dinner and we chatted like old friends.....I definitely look forward to welcoming Trang to my home in London!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb