Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
May 27th 2006
Published: June 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Traffic at HCMCTraffic at HCMCTraffic at HCMC

Its amazing more accidents don't happend. Motocycles dominate the local streets and traffic signs and lights are merely suggestive (that locals ignore). E.g. my friend did a U-turn at a red light in-front of the police cruiser and nothing happens!
I can't believe that I've been in HCMC for 6 days. I haven't been to any museums, attractions, etc. in the city. Most of the days are spent in the AC room avoiding the heat and evening eating and drinking with friends.

According to what I have heard, there is nothing really to see in the city perhaps except for War Remenants Museum (which used to be named Museum of Atrocities of War committed by Japanese and Americans). I am pretty squeamish when it come to blood and gore so I don't think I'll enjoy pictures of deformed individuals. Nevertheless, I'll probably steel my nerves and force myself to go there just to see what man is capable of doing to other man.

I'm leaving for Mekon Delta tommorow and probably return on Sun before leaving Saigon for good to go up north.

HCMC, at first impression was huge, sprawling, and in the process of rapaid growth. It is somewhere between Bangkok and Rangoon in terms of economic developement. The city itself has little greenary, full of air pollution and concrete, it is really charmless. The attraction of the city stems from the local Vietnamese who have been
Traffic at HCMCTraffic at HCMCTraffic at HCMC

More bikes. I think I have spent more time on a bike in 6 days than I did all my life. Don't worry mom, I'm not driving it, I wouldn't dare.
on the most part been hospitable and friendly. Perhaps, it is because I'm hanging out with friends who speak Viet which makes me less of a target from scam artists.

I have more pictures of Saigon that I'll put up later as I have to rush off to dinner now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

FriendsFriends
Friends

Marta (at the controls) & Briany on back of a bike. BTW English teachers over here are spoilt and lives a life of luxury. I am musing about spending a year abroad teaching Eng after my LL.B.
FriendsFriends
Friends

Duc & I @ Bier Hoi where 4ltr jugs of beer goes for about 70 cents. Mind you its pretty watered down but quanity over quality right?
FriendsFriends
Friends

More food and drinks with Duc's family. The matriach of the family, the aunt is really nice and generous, she sent repeating invitations to come dine with her.
FoodFood
Food

Colourful Viet dish, I don't know what it is called. BTW, Viet gotta be one of the hardest languages to learn. The tone of word could give it completely different meanings, and you think Eng is confusing because of dual meaning of some of it words.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb