Reunion in Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
March 31st 2011
Published: May 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ahhhhhhh......Ahhhhhhh......Ahhhhhhh......

FIRST iced coffee in Vietnam. Too good.
Sounds romantic, doesn't it?
Well it sure was.
I had made sure to give myself a bit of time before Guillaume would be coming to meet me in Saigon to prepare myself mentally.
Lucky for me, the flight was fantastic (well done, Turkish Airlines) and went by quickly and comfortably.
I was a wee bit nervous to arrive in Saigon all alone, since I usually have my partner in crime by my side. But I feel that I managed nicely. Found an honest taixi (not always easy) and even though I was still on my guard I found a way to relax and even offer a small peace offering throat lozenge to the driver who was hacking away the whole way to the hotel.
I was so absoutely thrilled that all had gone so well up til that moment. That I had arrived safe and sound, that I had FINALLY made it to my destination on my own. I closed my hotel room door behind me and, I kid you not, I started jumping on the bed and giggling like a little girl.
After i overcame all of these strong emotions, I pulled myself together and dragged myself out to the
TilesTilesTiles

Gorgeous tiles that decorate the floors of the beautiful Fine Arts Musem.
night market for a taste of heaven. Pork noodles and an icy cold 333 beer.
I was back in Vietnam.
The next two days I spent in Saigon I was anxiously trying to pass the time before Guillaume would show up.
I visited the Fine Arts Museum (quickly to realize that it's not as much fun to sightsee all alone), ate some good food (no one to share the joy with), and walked around aimlessly to do something....anything.
Infact, the closer and closer it got to our meeting...the more and more I missed him.
So, when the moment of the day finally arrived....well, I will spare the details.
Rest assured that there was laughing, crying, jumping, clapping, and hugging aplenty.
Words cannot describe.
We spent the evening chat, chat, chatting away. And Guillaume told me all about HIS adventure getting to the hotel from the airport. It's not always an easy thing to find an honest taxi driver in Saigon. Guillaume fell upon a VERY BAD APPLE, indeed. The guy turned out to be a total crook and when Guillaume realized this, demanded to exit the cab, the driver grabbed hold of Guillaumes backpack and refused to let him have
Of course....Of course....Of course....

Middle of Saigon city center, I turn around, what do I see?
it. Resulting in a tug-of-war between the two of them in the middle of a very busy intersection. Guillaume finally gave in and handed the theif a fraction of what was being asked and found another taxi to actually get him to the hotel.
Phew.
So, the next day, back in action, side by side. We picked up right where we left off, having fun, and started exploring Saigon together.
Saigon is another large, chaotic Asian city. With lots to look at and keep ourselves amused with.
We managed to visit the somehow even MORE chaotic part of the city, Cholon, chinatown. We got ourselves a bit lost there, always fun, especially when, amongst the chaos, I looked up and realized that we had stumbled right into a small narrow lane JAM PACKED with craft supplies! Ooooooh the temptation.
Heh heheh he, Guillaume managed to drag me out of there before I could get my paws on anything.

And it didnt take long for us to get back onto our usual routine of walking great distances in the sweltering heat to find fantastic food. We had an outstanding Banh Xeo (sort of rice pancake filled with pork, eaten with
First NightFirst NightFirst Night

Back together
a mountain of fresh herbs), and other little yummies that we found along the way that we don't even know the names of.
But we really didn't have very much time to spend in Ho Chi Minh City, as we already had plane tickets booked to treat ourselves to a 9 day getaway on the lovely Phu Quoc island.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Happy HourHappy Hour
Happy Hour

Its always happy hour with this guy around.
Another FirstAnother First
Another First

First grilled pork and rice of the trip!
Banh XeoBanh Xeo
Banh Xeo

REALLY great stuff
Just another soupJust another soup
Just another soup

That we dont know the name of.


2nd May 2011

Sweet!
Great post and pictures, thanks for sharing. And may the Love always continue to magnify! But Jen, your first meal was "Pork" noodles? Times have changed, eh?
2nd May 2011

OMG so happy for you both!
Ah my traveling bugs... we miss you both here, terribly, but we're so happy that you're both finally together, enjoy Vietnam, enjoy each others company and every moment of freedom in Asia. Next time you'll go to Vietnam, maybe you'll have the other two usual suspects with you :) We ate some Pho yesterday and started talking about it... we love you both, enjoy every moment, and then come celebrate our day! Just in a few months! xx

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb