Fun Times in Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
February 17th 2009
Published: February 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Huyen was a motor bike driver. She hung out at the Natural Cafe, at the end of the alley where my guest house was located. It was her “taxi stand” if you will. She was friendly and always available to take me wherever I wanted to go.

I liked her because she was a big woman. Having someone of my size on her motor bike didn’t seen to cause a problem. The first time I hired a motor bike, it was driven by a small woman. While we were traveling in heavy traffic I shifted my position and nearly caused her to wreck. We wobbled dangerously before she regained control. After that I would only ride with a man, the larger and stronger the better. One day I couldn’t find a man, so I asked Huyen to take me someplace. I liked her so much, she became my driver whenever possible.

Huyen’s live in girlfriend was Hanh. She worked part time at Natural Cafe. Hanh’s daughter was Bit. Bit was a waitress at Natural Cafe. Bit’s husband, whose name I forgot, operated a small com outside of the Natural Cafe at lunch time. It truly was a family affair.

One day Huyen invited me and a few others from the Natural Cafe “family” to her house for a party. Everyone accepted. So we piled on the motor bikes and headed out.

Huyen and Hanh lived together in a tiny room in a poor section of town across the river. The room contained no furniture except for a plastic child’s chair, a TV, and, of course, a karaoke machine. There was a tiny kitchen space and a squat toilet bathroom to the side. The girls slept on a thin pad that was tied to the wall during the day.

On our way to Huyen’s we stopped at a market and bought clams, oysters, fish heads, and vegetables. At Huyen’s house someone bought a couple of cases of beer and ice.

Everyone arrived and sat around on the floor. We began to prepare the vegetables while Hanh worked in the kitchen.

Soon Hanh began to bring the steamed clams and oysters out from the kitchen. We dug in. Then she brought the gas burner from the kitchen and sat it down in the middle of the floor. The fish heads and noodles were cooking in broth on the burner. We added our vegetables as they were ready. Then the feast began.

After everyone ate, the burner and saucers were cleared away and karaoke began. As the beer was consumed the karaoke got louder. Dancing broke out.

Fortunately there was only 1 song in the karaoke song book in English. It was “We Wish You A Merry Christmas.” After several beers, I sang it twice. I also danced with a Lesbian for the first time in my life (that I know of).

Eventually things wound down. The karaoke machine was turned off, thankfully. We mounted our motor bikes and headed back across the river. A good time was had by all.






Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb