Vietnam Daughter's Graduation Party


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
December 27th 2005
Published: December 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Graduation PartyGraduation PartyGraduation Party

The Graduation party. From left in dark coat: Sam Rayburn, Mr. Song, in Country rep for Library of Vietnam Project, Kent, Trang, Trang's Mother Sa.
During the Library of Vietnam, Cambodia, Lao tour, the group took a night off when we went through Ho Chi Minh City to give a party for my two special Vietnam daughters who both had recently graduated from school. Trang Nguyen my Rotary Daughter and Ngat Dao who I call a special daughter. Trang had recently graduated from Flight Attendant School of Vietnam Airlines and is now a regular flight attendant and Ngat Dao who recently graduated from Ho Chi Minh City University. She had graduated from college and university in Vietnam which is a six year program. She is now looking for a job in business. I call her my special daughter but really she is a Rotary daughter too as I met her Aunt during a Rotary trip to Vietnam several years ago and it was from her Aunt that recommended her to me as someone who deserved help that our relationship started. Ngat graduated with honors at her university and while she is looking for a job the Library of Vietnam Tour group adopted her to help them with interpretation during their tour. During the tour which was also sort of a graduation present for her she got
Graduation PartyGraduation PartyGraduation Party

Kent begins the program.
to see three countries, Vietnam, Cambodia and Lao. The "Killing Fields" of Cambodia was a real eye opener to her.

Right now Ngat is following me all over Vietnam on her motorbike. Although I wanted to do this trip alone I have to admit she has been great help. She usually follows me and my bike about 15 feet behind but when we are about to our destination she motors ahead and gets a hotel etc.

Now, back to the party. It was held in one of the libraries the Library of Vietnam project built in Saigon. It was a great night with excellent food. I was in charge of the program and I introduced Trang's Mother who gave a speech on how much Rotary has helped Trang and her family. Then I told a little about how Trang became a Rotary Exchange Student from a non Rotary Country-Vietnam. I told a little about the program and how special Trang was as a Rotary Exchange Student and how many programs have spun off her year as an exchange student.
I then told about how Aunt Rose had shown me a small one square photo of Ngat Dao and
Graduation PartyGraduation PartyGraduation Party

The Nguyen Family has gifts for everyone. Steve House receieves his.
how worthy she was of getting a chance at a higher education. I also told about how the Rotary Group from the "Rotarian" magazine had met Ngat Dao and how the group's photographer Debbie Jefkin had written me later and told me that Ngat Dao was the most impressive sophistacated Vietnamese she had met while touring Vietnam. Also Chuck Theucsh, the Library of Vietnam Project, had met her and was so impressed. So, after all these years, when I stepped off the plane at Hanoi, Ngat Dao was there to meet me and told me she would help me as long as I was in Vietnam.
I ended the program with Bich Lieu helping me sing the song Trang sung to the Kinsley Rotary Club at our first meeting with her "Cong On Cha Me" ( In honor of Parents) and the song I think of when I see all the kids of the world "When a Child is born."
It was a great night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Graduation PartyGraduation Party
Graduation Party

Larry Goldsmith receives his gift.
Graduation PartyGraduation Party
Graduation Party

Oanh Nguyen, Trang's youngest sister, Ngat, Trang, and Trang's friends.
Graduation PartyGraduation Party
Graduation Party

Kent and daughter's Ngat and Trang.
Graduation PartyGraduation Party
Graduation Party

Chuck Theusch, Founder of Library of Vietnam Project and it was his idea for a graduation party.
Graduation PartyGraduation Party
Graduation Party

Kent, Bich Lieu, Trang, sister-in-law to Trang and Dat's wife Lan, Sa, Trang's Mother, and Oanh, Trang's youngest sister.
Graduation PartyGraduation Party
Graduation Party

Kent's first daughter of Vietnam: Bich Lieu.


28th December 2005

You're having too much fun!
Kent, I really want to come with you on the next big trip you make to Vietnam. I'm so impressed with all you're seeing and doing there! But most of all, I want you to return safely to D5690 and your Rotary family. We miss you! -- Geri
31st December 2005

Beautiful Pictures
Kent, thanks for the great updates you are giving us! Travel safe and we look forward to seeing you soon. Curtis

Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 17; qc: 110; dbt: 0.1429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb