Sent into Nam...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
June 1st 2008
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well it finally happened.
I got my call to go to Nam the other month and here I am. Granted its over 30 years since the Vietnam war and my assignment - to cover the Women's Asian Cup- is a little less fraught with danger, but I am here nonetheless.

I've been sent to Saigon, no called Ho Chi Minh for two weeks to cover the football, but I am using my free time to get out and about and see as much as possible.

After spending the first week mainly working and finding my feet I managed to get out for a couple of hours this afternoon with my colleague Nick to see some of what Ho Chi Minh City has to offer.

After the daily monsoon dissipated we headed out to visit the Jade Emperor Padago, a must-see sight according to intrepid travellers reviews on the internet.
Now there is no doubt that this is the case but our hotel concierge managed to misunderstand where I was asking to go, so kindly gave incorrect taxi directions that lead us to a back street temple with curious locals no doubt amusing in our confusion.

After five minutes (all was needed!) looking round said temple, we trundled off through the streets to find other things to look at. This worked out better as we came across Notre Dame cathedral (without a vietnamese hunchback unfortunately, though some of local old women are questionable) and the Opera house as well as a market to buy cheap 'Ray Bans' from.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb