Ho Chi Minh City - Day 4


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
October 14th 2022
Published: October 16th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Well, I had a pretty rough night going at both ends!! We consulted our symptoms sheet from the Travel Doctor and decided some azithromycin could be in order. My dear husband brought three slices of white toast back from the dining room for me … and that’s all I ate all day. I managed only half a slice with a scrape of Vegemite for breakfast. For lunch and dinner I was able to get a whole slice into me washed down with lemon and ginger tea. Thank goodness I brought the Vegemite, my ultimate comfort food when recovering from feeling dodgy in the tummy.

I stayed in bed all day just about comatose!



Steps for the day: 1,337 (0.89km) I’m actually surprised that I moved that much!



Meanwhile, Bernie, Cathy and Steve visited the Ben Thanh Market before returning to the hotel via the Saigon River and the People’s Committee Building. While I had dry toast for lunch they returned to the Japanese restaurant that we ate in on Tuesday. Bento boxes and salmon fried rice for them!

They spent a bit of time down at the pool until they were chucked out so the staff could deep clean it. Apparently during the wet season the rain makes the pool grow algae really quickly so a staff member has to get in twice a day to wash the Perspex wall with a scrubbing brush. They don’t provide scuba to do this, or even a snorkel, the person with this job has to keep popping up for a breath and then holding it while they duck under to scrub. It doesn’t sound fun and, hopefully, the algae is not harmful to them?? Yet another example of the flagrant disregard for OH&S in this country.

At dinner time the three amigos found their way to another brewery bar called Pasteur & Co. This was the dining plan on Thursday night, but my early bail out put paid to it. Steve and Bernie ordered meat combos while Cathy enjoyed prawns. Bernie can’t recall which pale ales he sampled, but I think I remember Cathy mentioning that her beverage was a watermelon and kiwi fruit sour? Anyways they were out and about in the city sampling fine food and beverages!

The rest of the evening was a quiet one for all, trying to make all the luggage fit back into the suitcases. Once you start unpacking and re-packing it never fits in as efficiently as it did when you packed it at home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb