Aaaaah rain! Blessed rain!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
August 2nd 2010
Published: July 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 15.875, 108.336

It rained last night! And it poured. And do you know what? I didn't mind one bit!!! I had my brolly and my sandals and I was happy as Larry because finally, it is bearable to walk around in!

This morning we woke up early, depite it being our "day off" from the early starts, so had an early breakfast (passionfruit, pineapple, made-to-order omlettes... mmmmm) and then hired bikes for the day to ride to the beach. What a rip-off - a dollar for the bike for a day! I mean, I ask you, these people are just taking liberties with the poor tourists stuck in the place and with no other option! hehehe.

After a deceptively long "4km" bike-ride (4miles at least or my name is Chris Hoy), we sat for the rest of the afternon on the sunloungers, eating spring rolls, sipping cold drinks (still no beer for me after a lovely night with THE TUMMY and fabulous cramps this morning. It's joyous folks, I've got to tell you!) and enjoying a dip in the sea. Had a good gossip with some of the other tour group people who were also at the beach and then realised just how strong the sun is here. Stacey has some lovely finger shaped patches on her back and sides (sorry darling...) We hastily beat a retreat back to the hotel and chilled out in the pool there, before heading off to the tailors to have a suit and shirts made-to-measure for Miss Clifford; nothing for me, I'm not that fancy!

Now we're off for dinner along the river, with its beautiful lanterns dotting the shoreline and the islands in the middle. Should be a very chilled out and romantic place to spend an evening: accompanied by 15 others, but hey-ho!

Tomorrow should be a day spent explring the colonial history of the city, and its nooks and crannies. If I can drag Stacey out early, we might take a look at the local fish-market with the catch of the day being hauled in at 6am... On the other hand, I may have a few beers this evening and forget that idea entirely!

I'll report tomorrow on what the day held!

Hugs xxx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb