Saigon to Hoi An


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
July 21st 2016
Published: July 27th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast at the hotel was nothing to get excited about - although they did have some good cheese which is what is lacking at most other 2-3 star hotels. They tend to offer the processed cheese slices which when warm up on the serving table makes them soft and sticky. I decided to go to the airport about 2 hours before the flight departure to make sure I got check-ed in time. This time I took a taxi instead of the public airport bus. At check-in the agent informed me the flight - due to "technical problems" - would now depart 2 hours later. Bummer!! At least she gave me a meal voucher!! The domestic departure area in SGN airport is not the most relaxing place. Over the next couple of hours I am wondering why almost every second announcement is about a flight being cancelled or delayed to to "technical problems". How can there be so many technical problems with the 3-4 airlines serving the domestic market?? Now the departure area is starting to fill up with passengers on delayed flights. The restaurant where the meal voucher can be used was getting very full. I managed to find a table and had the bowl of noodles. Not really filling - but enough. I was betting nervous that my flight was not appearing on the board at the new time - only to find out that it was delayed again. Now a rain storm has come over SGN - and many flights are delayed because they can't lad during the rainstorm. My flight is again delayed until 7.00pm. But 7.00pm came and went - and the new time was listed as 7.30. We managed to get underway by 8.00pm - which meant I was at the airport for an unexpected 7 hours!!!!! On arrival at Danang Airport my driver was waiting for me and delivered me the 34kms to my homestay in Hoi An. I will sleep well tonight!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb