Dam hot!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
August 20th 2014
Published: September 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Well, that's another four weeks of my life that I will never see again but I managed to fit quite a bit of socializing into it.

The NGO (non govt organization) KOTO that I am currently working for had their annual field trip for all trainees and staff and the founder, Jimmy Pham at the end of July. As I was originally planning to go to Hanoi to fulfill this position and KOTO were kind enough to allow me to remain in Hoi An as I requested (I am researching/ writing/ providing a Health Resource Catalogue for KOTO), I hadn't actually physically met anyone connected to KOTO. With about a hundred KOTOans descending on Hoi An for a couple of days, it was an action packed time for them. I finally caught up with them when they had their Talent Quest night. This happened to be at Red Bridge, one of the more stylish restaurants with its fabulous cooking class facilities. After a beautiful meal (and a couple of G and T's), the kids entertained us whilst the adjudicators, Jimmy included, did their judging for most talented group. Jimmy is an unassuming, down to earth sort of guy and obviously well loved by the kids at KOTO, not ego-driven as happens to other founders of charities I have met. A great night was had by all! Next day was a farewell lunch at Dao Tien, another beautiful restaurant right on the river with more delicious food. Jimmy has wonderful contacts with all the best restaurants who support him and his trainees in return.

It was Binh's fiftieth birthday at the end of last month also. He is the other half of Quyen who are our wonderful neighbours who keep sending wonderful delicacies over the fence. Lucky for us she is a fantastic cook! Normally Vietnamese don't celebrate individual birthdays (Tet, Vietnamese New Year is the period for celebrating everything) but you have to admit turning fifty is pretty dam special! Sue2 and I gave him a USB stick with classical music downloaded as he had favourably commented on Sue's music one day and also a voucher for dinner at one of our favorite restaurants on the beach, White Sails. They can use it on "date night"!

Having worked at the homeless shelter here previously and found the residents to be utterly engaging, I was keen to keep the association going so when friends, also Occupational Therapists, suggested we take some of the disabled residents for an early morning swim at Hidden Beach, I was happy to help out. All the able bodied residents had been taken to the beach, paid for by the govt the week before. About half a dozen people and same amount of carers descended on the beach and eventually all ended up in the water, some taking longer than others and all with life jackets/flotation gear as no one can swim here and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. I'm not sure if most of them had ever been in the ocean before but now they know what they're missing......oops!

It's school/summer vacation here at the moment so we offered to take Sesame, our young neighbour (he is a very polite ten year old) to the movies one night. We had no idea what was showing or even if it was in English but ended up watching and enjoying the latest Spiderman movie. We were keen to buy Sesame an ice cream as his Mum is quite strict about keeping his diet clean but as karma would have it (or Quyen's influence on the Universe), the ice cream machine was out of action! Go figure!

We were invited for a memorial lunch one day to my friend, My's place, a little oasis coffee shop in the midst of urban Hoi An. It was in memorium of her brother who had died years before at the age of twelve or so. As she is Buddhist, this would normally have been a vegetarian feast but because westerners had been invited, meat was included in the menu. I often wonder if they think that we might expire if we don't have meat three times a day.. I'm pretty sure that I would survive (quite a long time even) without meat.

Oops, another two weeks had just slid by and I still haven't finished my blog.

This last week has been full of dragons and children as it is currently (all week!) the Mid Autumn Festival or better known as the Children's Festival. At every cafe, corner, bar or beach, you will be bailed up by ten or so youngsters dressed as a ferocious dragon and beating a huge drum and blatantly asking for money. A great time to stay home.

Last weekend, I saw a notice on Facebook for free kayak hire if you helped clean up the Thu Bon River which runs through Hoi An. Dragged a few friends along and had a great morning. Love being able to incorporate exercise into everything I do, if I can. We picked up about 20 large garbage bags for the day. Doesn't take long in that river to fill a bag and I'm all for keeping Hoi An beautiful.

Sue2's daughter, Stef and her fiance, Ben are visiting at present and Sue has been keeping them busy kayaking, kick-biking (similar to big scooter) and diving. Yesterday we all spent the day doing a guided motorbike tour through the beautiful Hai Van Pass (the other side of Danang) to Lang co. The weather was absolutely perfect and the whole trip was magic. Drove past exotic looking leper colonies, guard houses from the French Occupation and goats eating offerings to the dead in roadside shrines. Had a lovely fresh seafood lunch in a restaurant situated at the end of a pier in the lagoon that is on the other side of the beach at Lang Co. Couldn't ask for fresher seafood. Very sore and sorry butt at the end of the day though!

Packing tonight as we're off to Hanoi in the morning to do the Halong Bay/ Sapa tour and then hang out in Hanoi for a few days to catch up with friends. As I have completed my volunteering with KOTO, they would like me to drop in to see them to say goodbye (I expect) so will try and see them next Friday. I'm hoping at the very least that I get to eat at their renowned restaurant!

Looking forward to being a tourist for a while and just chilling out and checking out the scenery.

PS Happy birthday to my Mum, my sister, Jayne and two of my besties, Wendy and Shirl! You're all very special people. Gotta love Virgos!

Advertisement



24th September 2014

Its a hard life !
Sounds like you are really suffering there Sue !!
24th September 2014

Lovey...you were here! Remember how tough it was?

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb