Hoi An and Da Nang, Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
April 28th 2014
Published: May 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Based upon the below advice from friends, I had planned on visiting the following places as South, Middle, and North, each with the indicated times below. The train from Ho Chi Minh to the middle of Vietnam was 18 hours, so Ashlee suggested we stop half way between Ho Chi Minh and Hoi An and spend a week at the beach in Nha Trang. Nha Trang was only about 9 hours north of Ho Chi Minh by train. I never say no to the beach. If you are traveling by train this might be a better mix.

As some of you know, I work from my computer, so I can't move as often as some travelers. So I generally try to spend a week or more in each place and move residence (?) only on weekends. I prefer to stay in the same residence for a month when I can, but Vietnam only gives one month Visas to Americans, so you have one month to see as much as you can.

After the week in Nha Trang was over we headed the rest of the way north to the middle of Vietnam, at Hoi An. That was the overnight bus you saw in the last blog. The first 20 pictures in this blog are of Hoi An and and the last 9 pictures of of Da Nang.

Hoi An is a beautiful older walkable village. You will love Hoi An. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/H%!E(MISSING)1%!B(MISSING)B%!i(MISSING)_An

The beach isn’t far away from Hoi An either, if that sounds inviting.

Here are the ideas friends emailed me when I told them I had a month to spend in Vietnam. All of these comments came from friends who have been there. These sorts of comments are helpful to me when I am allocating time to various parts of a country I am exploring. These are their actual words … but I seem to agree with many of them so far. Now go have fun!


Vietnam



South (One week)

Ho Chi Minh:

Chu-chi tunnel half-day tour (book in back packer area). Notre Dam (Cathedral) – (cross the street) post office--Behn Than market--and landmark in the downtown/district 1 (Ho Chi Minh)

War Remnants Museum and the section on the photojournalism. It left a very strong impression!

Beaches: Phu Quoc (quiet) Mui nui (water sports) and Nha trang (party). Do boat trip in Nha Trang.



Middle (Two Weeks)

Hoi An/Da Nang/Hue

(Must see, plus beach and country side)

Hoi An is a must (x4). My good friend Phil owns Lotus Jewellery

Nice beach in Da Nang, Hoi an is nice old town, and the old capital Hue, attached is a beautiful resort

Hue: (Cultural Side) (Interesting)

Zone 1, Phu Loc town, Tam Giang Lagoon, Hue. Hotel vedana Lagoon resort & Spa

Da Nang (x2): must visit Hoi An and Danang.



North (One week)

Hanoi:

Also Halong Bay in the north.. Halong bay is very nice, make sure to go there on a sunny day.

Hanoi try and go see the water puppet theatre in the old quarter.. Great eating and shopping there to. They have a night market on Friday nights and shut down a whole street..

There's nothing much going on in Hanoi (but Halong bay)

Take the train up to Sa pa from Hanoi, Have fun inland to the highlands and get into the small villages


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



4th May 2014

Remembering Dave / Dad / Doc
Yesterday was the 1st anniversary of your Dad's 'transition'. His Navy photo is on the wall in my office and he keeps an eye on me all day. I miss him and know he is in a better place. I hope all is well with you and Ashlee. Have a great time in Viet Nam. It is a beautiful and tragic country. Love you much, Your old auntie
5th May 2014

Transition
Nancy, Thank you for your best wishes and thoughts about dad. I miss his voice but I feel he is near. I know he is in a better place. I just finished a book Ashlee gave me called "Proof of Heaven." It was a great read especially on the eve of one year since his passing. I love you too! Dan

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb