Hội An - Tết 2011 (the Year of the Cat)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
February 9th 2011
Published: February 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

2011 is the Year of the Cat2011 is the Year of the Cat2011 is the Year of the Cat

Vietnamese call 2011 "the Year of the Cat", while Chinese call their new year "the Year of the Rabbit".
Tết 2011 (Vietnamese Lunar New Year - the Year of the Cat): We had a long holiday this year (8 days) and I decided to celebrate my new year in central Vietnam instead of traveling abroad like I often do. My intention on this 5-day trip (31/1 to 4/2/2011) was to experience New Year's eve in Hội An old town and go by boat to Cù Lao Chàm island. Unfortunately, the weather was not great during my visit, so the tour to Cù Lao Chàm island couldn't be organized. I asked some travel companies in both Đà Nẵng city and Hội An town. They all replied to me that only military boats go to the island every day to supply local residents with necessary things. I have missed visiting this island 3 times while being in this area during the past 4 years (all because of bad weather), but it's also good as I will have a reason to go back.

After I arrived in Đà Nẵng city (the biggest city in central Vietnam), I booked a one day motorbike tour (US$30) to Bà Nà hills and Sơn Trà peninsula. My tour guide was a young boy and he was also my motorbike driver. We traveled over 100km by motorbike. On the way, we passed by the Red Beach where the French Navy attacked Đà Nẵng city in 1858. It was the beginning of France's military activities in Vietnam.

Bà Nà hills (altitude of Núi Chúa summit is 1487m) are located 30km away from Đà Nẵng city. The site was found by a French commander in 1901. A group of overseas Vietnamese in Russia invested in this area with mountain resort and cable system (total amount of US$900 million). Some years ago, the cable system was put into operation and there are about 300 - 1,000 visitors every day. The cable line from station No. 1 (Suối Mơ) to station No. 2 (Bà Nà) is the longest one in the world and it takes 20 minutes to go on this route. After visiting some sites at station No. 2 (pagoda and a 27m high Buddha statue), we walked to station No. 3 (DeBay - name of the French commander who found Bà Nà hills) and got another cable ride to station No. 4 (Morin). It was drizzling, cold and misty, so my photos were not great. However, the mountain view from my cable cars was spectacular. It reminded me of the mountain ranges in north west Vietnam. We were back to Đà Nẵng city and traveled 17km to Sơn Trà peninsula. There is a pagoda with a 67m high Buddha statue in this area.

Next day, I traveled by bus to Hội An town. It was the last day of the old year, so people in both Đà Nẵng city and Hội An town ran around to buy things for their Tết celebrations. Flower markets were open until mid night and shops started to be closed. Hội An is a rivertown 30km south of Đà Nẵng city. It was one of SE Asia's major international ports during the 16th - 19th centuries. A number of wooden buildings in this town date from the first part of the 19th century. You can see many works and architecture relating to the Chinese and Japanese communities. In December 1999, Hội An was recognized as a UNESCO world heritage site. Since then, it has been a popular tourist destination for both Vietnamese and foreigners.

This was my 6th visit to Hội An town. On my fist trip to this town in December 1997, there were simply old houses and narrow streets. A few years later, I returned to Hội An with my Japanese managers on our business trips and we often made a short tour and spent some hours walking around the old town. I could see the increase of tourist related services, especially the shops selling clothes, shoes, souvenirs, paintings etc. This time, I chose to visit Hội An during Tết. I wanted to see how the locals would celebrate the new year, and when all these shops were closed, the silence would bring back memories of my first trip. Hội An is also the only place in Vietnam where I celebrated both solar and lunar new years, other than my home city Hanoi.

I stayed at a hotel on Cửa Đại street, which is only 3km away from the beach. In the evening, I walked to the old town. There was a lantern festival by Thu Bồn river and a musical stage where fireworks could be seen a few hours later on the NY's eve. I didn't see fireworks as I had to walk back to my hotel which was quite far. When I passed by local houses, I saw locals preparing their rituals. I also loved incense smell. On the first day of the new year (3/2/2011), I walked back to the old town and spent more time in this area. Next day, I got a bus to go back to Đà Nẵng city. While waiting for my flight back home to Hanoi at 7pm, I went to the 29/3 park. 29 March 1975 was the day when Đà Nẵng city was liberated from the American war, so the park was given name "29/3". I joined a boat tour around the lake and watched human chess which was performed by local children. This Tết was great as I experienced celebrations in 3 cities (Hanoi, Đà Nẵng and Hội An).

I would like to thank Viettelco (website http://www.viettelco.com/ ) which is a calling cards firm in California, the USA, for sponsoring me air tickets Hanoi - Đà Nẵng - Hanoi and one day motorbike tour to Bà Nà hills and Sơn Trà peninsula. One year ago, this organization presented me US$300 and I have spent this amount making two trips to south central coast of Vietnam (see another blog: A trip sponsored by the US organization Viettelco).

Travel tips: You can fly to Đà Nẵng city from Hanoi/HCMC on Vietnam Airlines, Air Mekong, or Jetstar Pacific, then take a taxi or local bus (yellow) to Hội An (30km). A bus ticket costs VND 15,000 (70 US cents). There are tours to some villages in Hội An, however you also can explore the area on your own with bicycles or motorbikes. Food and services during the holidays are more expensive. Public bus doesn't work on the 1st day of the lunar new year. Free entrance tickets to Hội An old town on 4 days of Tết celebrations.

My other blogs about Tết celebrations in Vietnam:

Tết 2008 in Hanoi
2009 - the Year of the Buffalo
Tết 2009 in Huế city
New Year's activities during Tết 2009
2010 - the Year of the Tiger

Tết Tân Mão 2011 - Ngày 31/1 - 4/2/2011 tại Đà Nẵng & Hội An

Kỳ nghỉ Tết năm nay ở Việt Nam kéo dài 8 ngày. Tôi quyết định bay vào miền Trung và đón Tết ở đó, thay vì đi du lịch nước ngoài như mọi năm. Tôi quyết định chọn Hội An là nơi đón giao thừa. Mục đích của tôi trong chuyến đi này là đến thăm cả Cù Lao Chàm. Tiếc là thời tiết không tốt, trời âm u, sóng lớn, nên không có tàu du lịch ra đảo, mà chỉ có tàu của đồn biên phòng ra đảo hàng ngày để tiếp tế lương thực. Trong 4 năm vừa qua, tôi đến Đà Nẵng 3 lần mà đều lỡ cơ hội ra đảo, vì đều đi vào khoảng thời gian tháng 12 hay tháng 1 là lúc thời tiết không tốt. Nhưng cũng không sao, vì tôi sẽ có lý do để quay lại đây và lần sau tôi sẽ chọn thời điểm tháng 4-5 là lúc thời tiết tốt hơn.

Sau khi bay đến Đà Nẵng, tôi book tour đi bằng xe máy một ngày (giá 600.000 VND, bao gồm cả tiền cáp treo 220.000 đồng) thăm Bà Nà và bán đảo Sơn Trà. Cậu bé hướng dẫn viên đồng thời làm lái xe của tôi. Chúng tôi đã đi hơn 100km bằng xe máy. Cậu bé chỉ cho tôi thấy bãi biển Red Beach nơi thực dân Pháp đổ bộ lần đầu tiên lên Đà Nẵng. Hiện nay, Đà Nẵng có 6 quận và 2 huyện là huyện Hòa Vang và huyện đảo Hoàng Sa. Tuy nhiên, trụ sở của huyện đảo Hoàng Sa thì lại đặt ở Đà Nẵng. Chúng tôi đi qua huyện Hòa Vang và hướng tới Bà Nà. Hôm nay thời tiết âm u, nên ảnh của tôi chụp không được đẹp. Bà Nà được một sỹ quan người Pháp tìm thấy vào năm 1901. Vài năm trước, đường cáp lên đỉnh núi khánh thành và tổng số tiền mà tập đoàn Việt Kiều Nga đầu tư vào đây là 900 triệu USD (trong đó cáp treo là 300 triệu USD). Có 4 ga là ga Suối Mơ (ga 1), ga Bà Nà (ga 2), ga DeBay (ga 3 - tên của người Pháp tìm thấy Bà Nà) và ga Morin (ga 4). Khoảng cách đường cáp từ ga 1 đến ga 2 dài nhất thế giới với thời gian đi là 20 phút. Sau đó, chúng tôi đi bộ thăm quan ở ga 2 và đến ga 3, đi tiếp 5 phút bằng cáp treo lên ga cuối cùng. Tại ga 2 có chùa Linh Ứng với bức tượng Phật ngồi cao 27m. Trời mưa phùn, nhiều mây mù và lạnh. Vào mùa cao điểm, có 1000 khách du lịch lên Bà Nà, còn hiện giờ thì chỉ khoàng 100 - 300 khách mỗi ngày. Cáp treo
Japanese Covered Bridge in Hội AnJapanese Covered Bridge in Hội AnJapanese Covered Bridge in Hội An

The bridge was built in 1593 by the Japanese community of Hội An to link their neighborhood with the Chinese quarters across the stream. The bridge was provided with a roof so it could be used as a shelter from both the rain and the sun.
hoạt động theo giờ, nên chúng tôi phải canh thời gian để ra ga.

Đỉnh Núi Chúa (hay Nghinh Phong) cao 1487m, tuy nhiên con đường từ ga Morin lên đây hiện đang thi công nên lầy lội và bẩn. Tôi chỉ chơi ở ga 4 một lát rồi đi xuống. Biểu tượng của cáp treo Bà Nà là hoa đào chuông. Đây cũng là loài hoa chỉ nở duy nhất ở Bà Nà. Tiếc là những khu di tích của Pháp như hầm rượu thì đóng cửa, nên chúng tôi không thể vào thăm quan được. Từ trên cáp treo có thể nhìn thấy những dãy núi trải dài tuyệt đẹp ở phía dưới và nó gợi cho tôi nhớ đến vùng Tây Bắc của Việt Nam.

Sau khi quay trở lại Đà Nẵng, chúng tôi đi về hướng Bán đảo Sơn Trà. Ở đây cũng có chùa Linh Ứng với bức tượng Phật đứng cao 67m. Đứng từ phía Đà Nẵng cũng có thể nhìn thấy bức tượng này. Như vậy là tôi đã đến thăm cả 3 ngôi chùa Linh Ứng ở Ngũ Hành Sơn, Bà Nà và Sơn Trà. Trên đường về Đà Nẵng, tôi cũng nhìn thấy cảng Tiên Sa cách Sơn Trà 4km.

Ngày hôm sau, tôi đi xe buýt (màu vàng) đến Hội An, giá vé là 15.000 đồng. Do nhiều xe nghỉ Tết, nên phải chờ rất lâu mới có xe và trong xe rất đông người. Tôi chọn khách sạn ở đường Cửa Đại, cách bãi biển 3km. Buổi tối, tôi đi bộ ra khu phố cổ của Hội An. Hôm nay là ngày cuối năm nên chợ hoa vẫn mở cho đến nửa đêm. Đây là lần thứ 6 tôi đến Hội An. Lần đầu tiên là vào tháng 12/1997, khi đó Hội An còn chưa được công nhận là di sản thế giới của UNESCO. Lúc đó, Hội An mới chỉ có ít khách du lịch, với những căn nhà cổ nguyên sơ. Trong những chuyến đi tiếp theo, tôi đi công tác cùng người Nhật ở công ty và chúng tôi chỉ đi qua rất nhanh vài khu phố cổ ở Hội An rồi quay lại Đà Nẵng. Ngày càng có nhiều cửa hiệu may quần áo, đóng giày, bán tranh ảnh và đồ lưu niệm. Lần này, tôi chọn đến Hội An vào dịp
Human chess performed by children at 29/3 Park in Đà NẵngHuman chess performed by children at 29/3 Park in Đà NẵngHuman chess performed by children at 29/3 Park in Đà Nẵng

Biểu diễn cờ người tại Công viên 29/3, TP Đà Nẵng, do các em nhỏ thực hiện.
Tết là khi tất cả các cửa hiệu đóng cửa và tôi sẽ được sống lại cảm giác yên tĩnh của lần đầu tiên đến Hội An. Đây cũng là nơi duy nhất ở Việt Nam mà tôi đón năm mới cả Tết dương lịch và âm lịch, vì thông thường tôi chỉ ở Hà Nội hoặc ra nước ngoài vào dịp này.

Bên dòng sông Thu Bồn có trang trí rất nhiều đèn lồng. Gần đó là quảng trường sông Hoài với sân khấu ca nhạc và sau đó sẽ có bắn pháo hoa ở đây. Tôi không chờ đến lúc bắn pháo hoa, vì khách sạn của tôi ở khá xa và tôi phải đi bộ về. Trên đường đi, tôi nhìn thấy người dân Hội An chuẩn bị cúng giao thừa ở trước cửa nhà. Khu phố cổ trông thật lung linh với những chiếc đèn lồng và mùi hương trầm man mác lan tỏa ở khắp mọi nơi.

Sáng hôm sau là ngày mùng một Tết, tôi quay trở lại khu phố cổ một lần nữa để chụp ảnh. Mãi đến hôm nay trời mới hơi hửng nắng, nên tôi có thể mặc áo
Lantern festival in Hội AnLantern festival in Hội AnLantern festival in Hội An

The cat is climbing areca tree (cây cau).
dài. Sau đó trời lại âm u, nên ảnh không được đẹp. Trong suốt 4 ngày Tết, khu phố cổ mở cửa miễn phí cho du khách, thông thường vé của người Việt là 40.000 đồng. Cũng như ở mọi nơi, giá đồ ăn và dịch vụ ngày Tết đắt hơn thông thường. Ngày cuối cùng của tôi ở Hội An thì trời mới thực sự nắng. Mọi người nói với tôi là chưa bao giờ lại lạnh lâu như vậy, cũng giống ở miền bắc, lạnh suốt tháng 1 vửa qua. Tôi quyết định đi bộ về hướng bãi biển Cửa Đại, nhưng do không có nhiều thời gian nên tôi chỉ đi được một đoạn rồi quay về để check-out khách sạn, ra bến xe và quay về Đà Nẵng. Còn mấy tiếng đồng hồ ở Đà Nẵng trước khi ra sân bay, tôi ghé vào Công viên 29/3 (lấy tên ngày giải phóng Đà Nẵng 29/3/1975). Hôm nay có rất nhiều người đi chơi trong công viên. Tôi đi thuyền rồng quanh hồ một lát, rồi xem cờ người do các em bé biểu diễn võ thuật. Các em múa võ rất giỏi, còn dùng cả binh khí cổ truyền, nên mọi người rất thích và vỗ tay khen ngợi. Vậy là tôi đã có một kỳ nghỉ Tết thú vị và được trải nghiệm cảm giác đón Tết ở cả 3 nơi là Hà Nội, Đà Nẵng và Hội An. Tôi cũng được thưởng thức các món ăn ngon ở Đà Nẵng và Hội An là mỳ Quảng, cao lầu, cơm gà Hội An, bún thịt nướng, nem lụi và bò cuốn lá lốt.

Tôi xin cảm ơn Công ty Viettelco (website http://www.viettelco.com/ ) là công ty điện thoại tại California, Mỹ, đã tài trợ cho tôi vé máy bay Hà Nội - Đà Nẵng - Hà Nội và tour xe máy một ngày đến Bà Nà và bán đảo Sơn Trà. Một năm trước đây, công ty này đã tặng cho tôi 300 USD và tôi đã sử dụng số tiền này cho 2 chuyến đi đến 3 thành phố ở miền Trung là Quy Nhơn, Tuy Hòa và Đà Nẵng (Xem blog A trip sponsored by the US organization Viettelco)


Additional photos below
Photos: 71, Displayed: 34


Advertisement

29/3 Park in Đà Nẵng city29/3 Park in Đà Nẵng city
29/3 Park in Đà Nẵng city

This is the view from my boat. I also joined a boat tour around the lake.


9th February 2011

Thanks for the great photos and interesting information.
9th February 2011

Beautiful photos! I am glad you decided to continue writing on TravelBlog. The Front Page would lose something if your contributions stopped. :)
9th February 2011

Hoi An
I have some of the best memories of Hoi An, a lovely enchanting city. And I also have a picture of that famous bridge. Love from Argentina. Graciela.
10th February 2011
29/3 Park in Đà Nẵng city

Hi Hong Ha, Happy Tet :) Thank you for the absolutely beautiful write up. The lantern festival looks beautiful & great to walk on a cool night :). Definately a great reason for me to visit Hoi An one day... Hue also another place with old buildings which I plan to visit. The weather in Kuala Lumpur has been very wet before chinese new year with some towns flooded on the eve of chinese new year. People unable to celebrate chinese new year as they stayed in school while waiting for weather to clear. After getting home, they have to clean up the houses which were full of mud. Take care, Leah
10th February 2011

Chuc mung nam moi! Thanks for another intertesting blog and great photos. It is interesting that in Vietnam it is the year of the cat, but in China, Signapore, etc it is the year of the rabbit. When I visited Cabramatta just before Tet (this is the home fo Sydney's largest VN community) I only found trinkets and gifts for the rabbit and not the cat.
10th February 2011

A Happy New Year
I did not know this year is the year of the cat in Vietnam. I hope you will be active in your own travel style, this year, too!
11th February 2011

Ba Na
Nice photographs...Good Article on Hoi An....I like Hoi An...:) :)
27th February 2011

Welcome back...like reading your blog. The Chinese here ushered the "Rabbit". Just wonder the 12 zodiac animals circle in Vietnam. Anyway, all the very best for 2011.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 22; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb