Triumphant Return to Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
December 18th 2010
Published: December 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After having been drafted into the Army in 1968 by the US government, sent to Viet Nam against my will, I returned to the States after a year in the South as a peace-nik and dedicated pot smoker. The weed was good, grew wild, and was dirt cheap--and very available during the late 60s. And I was just a punk privileged kid, full of crap and naive, exploiting the plentitude of herbal abundance to the point of mailing personal batches home in the military mail. photo credits: Jim Porter

Since those personal indiscretions during a blemished period of indiscreet 20th century history, I have changed my ways, and now don't smoke that crap. But I languished too long in it before swearing off that old devil's cabbage, and consequently, I got myself in some trouble over the notion that I could possess as much weed as I could possibly want, whenever I wanted it. So my casualty of war was being stoned for too many years, albeit having witnessed vast destruction and death in Viet Nam, which one would expect foreign invasion and occupation to bring about. Remember the B-52 bomber raids over Hanoi? Kind of a harsh measure, wouldn't you agree?

I mean, give me a freeking break. The US military slaughtered millions of SE Asians in the name of stopping the spread of "communism" an economic systmem anchored in central planning. And that the US is now economically subservient to so-called "Communist China," just makes the whole notion of the American War on Viet Nam all the more ironically appauling.

Please enjoy the snapshots of Central VN, taken by my friend JIM PORTER a few years.


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb