NAM!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey, I know i havent updated this thing for an age like, but I'll make more of an effort in future I promise!! to give a quick skim over what I've been up to since the last blog entry... think I was just back from Calcutta... after that I headed north in India, to Himachal Pradesh, went to Manali which was cool place, and then took an epic jeep ride to Leh in Ladakh, right up near the Tibetan border. It was awesome up there, the landscape is so barren, looks like you're on the moon! Up there I ckimbed a mountain called Stok Kangri, my highest ever at 6129m!!! Pretty awesome, was with some others trekkers who were all good guys, was lucky to find such a good group! After that I flew back to Delhi and took a train to Mumbai... was there for 3 days or so, got offered a part in couple Bollywood movies but had to turn it down as it clashed with my flight time, booo, gutted!!! Might have been for the best though as I'm a terrible dancer 😊

From Mumbai I flew to Singapore, where I kinda had my dates mixed up, so I found I had 5 nights in Singapore... whicxh is kinda long there, most people seem to stay like 2 or 3 days and then head off somewhere else... I had fun though, stayed in Little India in an Ozzie backpacker hostel called The Prince of Wales... made some friends there and drank lots of beer, was so beer starved after India, hadn't been drunk for 2 months so felt I needed to make up for it and just went on total lash for few nights...

Left Singapore feeling hungover and flew to Hanoi on budget airline flight... found a hotel and the next morning left on a tour to Halong Bay, few hours from Hanoi, its amazing place, thousands of huge rock pinnacles just jutting out of the blue sea... had a ball there, kayaking and rick climbing and swimming... and drinking of course 😊

Back in Hanoi stayed a couple of nights just going out on the lash, getting busted in bars after midnight by the police, doing a little sightseeing during the day, saw 'Uncle Ho', preserved in his mausoleum... With a hangover we headed up to Sapa in the north, by this timer I was travelling with Gar (Dublin), Paul (London) and Katie (not sure exactly)... we did a 2 day trek in Sapa, which is really beautiful place, green as anywhere I've ever seen and just stunning views and people!

Back In Hanoi again after Sapa, booked a bus to go south with Gar, down to Hue (Hoo-ay) on the night bus... stayed there for 2 nights, did some sightseeing on motorbikes, drank more beers and played pool with the locals... was fun. From there we took another bus down the coast to Hoi An... where I am now nursing a hangover... its cool place, so many tailors here, you can get any clothes you want made to fit here and it's soooo cheap, contemplating gettin me a suit made up...

Well thats about it so far... so since I left India for SE Asia, beers are more plentlyful as are the travellers I meet... maybe the experiences not so rich, but its fun and I'm loving it!!!

I like!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb