Hoi An -- Last Stop


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
March 12th 2008
Published: March 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We are having a great time in Hoi An. It is a world heritage site and is extremely picturesque and charming. Now I am beginning to regret that I didn't buy a better camera -- I just can't seem to capture the images as I would like to. If it doesn't take forever to upload photos I will post some. Yesterday we spent the morning in the market and in the afternoon went on a boat ride. Today we went by motorbike taxi to the beach and had a long walk, then the sun came out so we went and had lunch at a cafe on the beach and sat there for a few hours enjoying the sun and Micha had a swim. Most of our hotels have a swimming pool but we don't use them mostly because we are hardly in the hotels except to sleep. Time is flying. I have been sick since we came down from the mountains. Yesterday I felt so bad that I was thinking that I would really like to go home now. Today we had such a nice day and I feel a bit better so now I was thinking that it is a shame we can't stay longer. This is a tailoring town and we are having some clothes made and some sandals too. The food is very good here. This is the furthest south we will be going to in Vietnam -- I think that the north is quite backwards compared with the rest of the country. The people in the north seem to be much poorer and not as educated -- we stopped taking guides because we couldn't understand their English -- it was such an effort trying to understand them. Anyway the food has improved immensely and we have no more complaints. Hoi An is an old trading town and many of the buildings have been preserved. The area around is green and lush. We are hiring a car tomorrow (with driver) and will go and visit a few sites -- will be able to tell him to stop if we want to take some photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb