Hoi-An and Hue


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
August 5th 2006
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

15th Aug 2006
Hue & Hoi An

Hi everyone.

For the last week I've been in central Vietnam at 2 very Beautiful cities Hue and Hoi An. Both are listed as World Heritage site. Hue at one time was the capital of Vietnam. I went on a boat tour up the Song Huong (Perfume River). Checked out Three different Emperor's tombs. I also went on a day tour of the DMZ (Demilitarised Zone). the best part of the DMZ tour was the Vinh Moc Tunnels. These were tunnels where the Vietnamese villagers and the Viet Cong would live for 6 years while the Americans Bombed the area above daily. This ended up becoming a whole city under ground.
Hoi An is the clothing capital of Vietnam there is several hundred tailors' shops here all willing to make what ever you want. They will custome make everything to fit you within a day or two for less then a tenth of the cost at home. I got a couple of pants and shirts made up. I also took a tour of My Son a site of ancient ruins. Very nice. I spent one day on the beach. In all, Hoi An is a great little city, any one traveling to Vietnam has to spend sometime here.

I hope everyone is doing well.
I leave tomorrow for Nhg Trang a little beach front city. Hopefully the sun will show up there.

Cheers

Tim





Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

American Pill BoxAmerican Pill Box
American Pill Box

On wall of Hue


Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 28; qc: 131; dbt: 0.145s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb