Picture Catch Up


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Halong BayHalong BayHalong Bay

Just before boarding our boat
I somehow managed to find the one super fast internet cafe in all of Vietnam, so I took advantage and caught up with the picture uploading back to the Halong Bay trip.

By the way, I wasn't able to do the cave dive due to strong currents. But the regular dives were cool. I held a puffer fish. You tickle its sides and it puffs up right in your hands. I also put this weird starfish like thing in my palm. You rub the top of it and it suctions itself onto you, so you can turn it upside down and swim with it and stuff. There was also this weird type of coral, with literally thousands of soft appendages sticking out. As soon as you touch it, all of them retract inside of it really quickly. All of it was pretty neat.

Gotta tell you about the Bia Hoi stands... they're awesome. Basically every city and town in Vietnam has them and it's the cheapest beer I've ever seen anywhere in the world. It costs about $.80 for a 2 liter beer! And you sit on these little 8 inch tall plastic stools, quite similar to the ones you use in kindergarten.

So anyway, I bumped into a group of solo travelers at the Bia Hoi stand in Nha Trang and they told me they hired a boat to take them squidding (I'm pretty sure that's not a word, but that's what we called it anyway). I hate fishing, but it was a fun group and the squid is out of this world in Vietnam. The squidding was pretty fun. We only caught like 3 of them the whole time, but they had a few kilos of previously caught squid and shrimp so we stuffed ourselves anyway.

Leaving here tomorrow and heading down to Ho Chi Minh City, aka Saigon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Halong BayHalong Bay
Halong Bay

Part group shot
HanoiHanoi
Hanoi

I'm switching careers
RainbowRainbow
Rainbow

Somewhere between Hue and Hoi An
LakeLake
Lake

Also between Hue and Hoi An
LunchLunch
Lunch

Steamed crabs on the beach!!
DivingDiving
Diving

The boat ride to the diving site in Nha Trang
DivingDiving
Diving

Colleen and me


10th November 2008

omg just looking at the snake wine makes me queasy
14th November 2008

Awesome Pics
The one called "Lake" is great - perfect composition dude! all of them make me think how much i love working in nj right now...of course that is sarcasm... keep takin great pics!

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1124s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb