In Hoi An


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Da Nang
May 20th 2019
Published: May 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up in a beautiful hotel. I was only able to enjoy it for a few sleeping hours, but I felt classy staying there! Made me feel better after the plane ride - let's just say that a-holes exist in every part of the planet. I think that's an understated hard part of travel - you are constantly putting yourself out there for public inspection. Rising above can be difficult.

Ah well, I'm on an adventure! Today we went to My Son Sanctuary, a UNESCO site outside of Da Nong. The site was created by the Champa people over a thousand years ago. The French looted the place, Americans bombed it, and yet much if it still exists in its original form. In fact, in places where rehab is present are crumbling much more quickly than the thousand year old structures.

After that adventure and lunch at a Korean place, I was off to Hue. Along the way there were beautiful ocean views, rice paddies, and the ubiquitous scooters.





Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb