We Golfed Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Binh Thuan » Mui Ne
February 29th 2008
Published: February 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Golf DayGolf DayGolf Day

M's pics of the Victoria
Fri Feb 29

Victoria Hotel Phan Thiet Vietnam


Soooooooooo.. still woke up about 6 am but thats because we wanted to..didnt have to. Beautiful morning..sun rising as we had coffee out on our patio with the surf pounding away... many fisherman out in small boats and birds singing all around us. This is a drop dead gorgeous property..grounds are lovely..the beachfront bungalow is great..the outdoor shower is cool once you get over the initial thought that one of the gardeners will pop his head thru the flowers and wish you a smiling good morning.

Huge buffet breakfast with all sorts of asian and western foods with tables out on the deck overlooking the beach. We had a very early dinner last night and were back in the room by about 7pm... had a beer out on the deck watching the waves etc and retired early..both sleeping like logs for the first time.

Slight change in plans as when we went to book golf tomorrow it turns out tomorrow is Saturday here..can't get a tee time until 14:00 which would be verrrry warm and Sunday its fully booked...so today is golf day!

We have an 11 am tee time and someone will pick us up in 30 min.. Im already wishing I hadn't had 4 cups of hi-test coffee as Im buzzing already so I thought I better start this now as after 5 hrs of warm golf and ice cold beer I may not be able to type exactly coherently 😊 Cart or caddy is mandatory and they suggest we take 2 young female caddies as they know the in's and out's of the course altho I kind of thought a cart with a roof may have given me better sun protection. We both thought to pack our golf sandals but neither of us thought of gloves or towels etc so a bit of pro shop shopping is in order (thank god I brought a hat or I'd be in meltdown pretty quickly).

Hopefully we will be able to update this and upload some of M's photos this evening when we return.. to be continued.

Tooooo cool..

We played the Nick Faldo designed 18 hole course today..accompanied by 2 certified USGA caddies so the scores are signed..certified and these ladies dont allow "foot wedges etc".

Im sure we would have both parred the course had it not been for

a) Rental Clubs ?
b) New golf gloves ?
c) Vietnamese golf balls?
d) the +34 temperatures?
e) the gale force winds?

As it was be both enjoyed it tremendously and considering the fact that we hadn't swung a golf club in 6 months it was great to get out on the course. The caddies were great and actually very helpful altho it did take me a while to get used to having a lady pull my golf cart..clean my clubs..suggest which club to use etc...(until M reminded me how sexist I was being)..after that I thoroughly enjoyed having someone do the carrying 😊

After pounding my first shot..off the first tee..into the lake (there is a LOT of water and bunkers on this course) I shot a 96 which after a 6 month hiatus I was actually quite thrilled with. M shot a decent game too but has decided to be discrete about releasing her score (so look out Jim & Sue) !

The caddies are mandatory but I think they really help for other reasons..they don't let you dawdle..the pace of play was astounding..we finished the front nine in 1 3/4 hours..the back was a little slower as they were allowing practice round for the big tournament tomorrow.

We have already accomplished 2 of the things M wanted to do this trip.. i.e. Bicycling and Golfing.. dunno what she has up her sleeve next..but if it involves parachutes.. I'll stay in the Bar !

Back in the Hotel now..relaxing with a beer out on the patio watching the waves roll in..off to dinner soon

Take care all and thanks for the comments and emails

See you all soon

R & M

p.s.

For years M has teased me..DONT wear socks with sandals..its tacky.. I always said uhmmmmm I burn easily? today I tried bare feet in golf sandals..Damn I have crispy toes...ouch



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Our caddiesOur caddies
Our caddies

These 2 ladies are caddies in Dalat..brought down to caddy for the big tournament starting tomorrow


1st March 2008

Crispy Toes
You know, sun screen works on toes also dad! ;)
2nd March 2008

Sun Screen
I was going to make the same comment Steve but you know he is my much older and supposedly wiser brother:)

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb