Sights in Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
October 16th 2013
Published: October 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post


After procrastinating and making excuses about heat, rain, or laziness, I went out to see a couple of major attractions in Hanoi. The outings were wonderful and whet my appetite to do more to be an appreciative visitor and get to know the city better.




The two first places on my list were the Women’s Museum and the Temple of Literature. When I headed out to get a taxi, a motorbike driver asked if I wanted to hire his services. It seemed like a good start to use the transportation of the majority of people here. The Temple of Literature was about a 20 minute ride. It was built in 1076 as the first university of Vietnam and has several courtyards with lovely gardens. Confucius’ teachings were originally taught. There are dozens of large slabs (maybe 8 feet tall) with the names of doctoral graduates listed, sort of their diplomas. They are set on tortoises, the symbol of the country and expression of luck. The etchings have faded but the monuments are impressive.




When I left I headed in the general direction I needed. Downtown is a maze of small streets that criss cross at all angles, so I was just guessing . The temperature was OK and I intended to get a cab eventually, so if I got tired I would just find one and go. It was a nice chance to see many people, look in shops, and get lunch where locals gathered.




The Women’s Museum is an amazing modern four-story building of great exhibits with interactive and video displays. The top floor has fashions and styles of the many ethnic groups around the country, many with beautiful embroidery work, especially in the wedding collection. Some areas showed typical family life, child raising, and hard work, primarily of peasant women. There are hundreds of pictures and artifacts of women freedom fighters. The last part I saw was about the role of the modern woman in industry and politics, and the importance of equality for women.




At a restaurant recently someone at the table ordered crickets and invited me to try. I went for it. I may not get the chance to do that again—not when I willing to consider it. They were fried crispy, very nicely seasoned, and tasted pretty good. You may be able to see one on the way up and then I’m chewing.




One afternoon I went to a little corner store nearby. It was siesta time but this one was open. I went in, walked around, found what I wanted, and waited, and waited. No one came to take my money. Had to go back later.




As I enjoyed the visiting, admiring the respect for education and for women, thought about insect eating, and considered the shop with no cashier, it reminded me to see alternatives to doing things. The weather may not be great, some people have a different way for them, it’s all OK. I can learn, adapt, and see ways that my life is better by and by, or I can just know about how others choose to run their lives.





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



18th October 2013

Eating Crickets???
Did it taste like chicken? And...was it enough protein for the day?

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb