Misty mountains


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
February 12th 2012
Published: February 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I enjoyed the night train so Sapa on Friday. It was much cleaner than my last night train, the beds were more comfortable & there was more space. Also 2 Aussie guys played a film, which passed the time, although it was about a runaway train!! Saturday morning I went for a hike to the Hmong village of Cat Cat & saw a waterfall & a traditional performance. I also tried some apple wine, which was quite sweet. I had a lazy afternoon & did some more shopping. It was cold in Sapa so I ended up wearing 2 t-shirts, a fleece, a waterproof jacket & a wolly hat for most of the time. There was no heating in my room but I was saved by the electric blanket, so I was toasty and got a good nights sleep.

On Sunday I did a longer hike through more villages & through a lot of mud, before catching the night train back to Hanoi. At points the sun did break through the clouds so the views were better & I can see why the area is known for its beauty. The road down from Sapa to the train was extremely windy so I was glad to reach the bottom & get some fresh air. Now I have 1 day in Hanoi before heading to Hong Kong tomorrow. The end is in sight!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb