One More Day and Night


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
January 23rd 2009
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today said goodbye to our friends. Our friend Lan had a beautiful scroll made for Bao with very special calligraphy. On the right hand side at the top it says in Chinese characters, Tet 2009. On the left hand side top is the lunar new year. On the right hand side bottom is his name Bao Tien, and in the middle is a message for health for children. The calligrapher was ranked number 1 in Vietnam four years ago.

Traffic is becoming wearing; due to Tet, it is unsafe anymore to cross the street, which is frustrating as we love to walk through the old quarter. There are just so many motos and cars on the road because of the holiday. So we always call for a taxi. Today I left Allen and Bao in the room and ventured out to the Fivimart, one of the very first supermarkets in Hanoi, opened just 7 years ago. It took 25 minutes for the taxi to arrive. The hotel manager approached me and asked if I could ride "xe om", meaning on the back of a moto, but I thought, I am a baby momma now, and insisted on a taxi, as I have to stay safe. When I left the store, loaded down with bags, I thought how am I going to get a taxi now? I wandered into my favorite silk shop, and asked for help with a taxi. Two young women were staffing the shop at the time. One of them called me a taxi, but we waited and waited and waited. Suddenly she said, "why don't I take you home? I have a moto." She insisted, and I thought, how can I turn down her gracious offer. So I did end up riding xe om after all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

ScrollsScrolls
Scrolls

For Tet
Sitting By the Peach TreeSitting By the Peach Tree
Sitting By the Peach Tree

At the Calligraphers' Station


23rd January 2009

tougher
true. being safe is important, but now that you're a baby momma, you're already tougher than you were a few weeks ago. now you have mama wolf strength and you don't even know it! when do you arrive back in tally?
23rd January 2009

hot moto momma
Well, when fate calls for you to ride on moto, you must ride moto. I won't even ask if you wore helmut. These will be one of the stories you should not tell Bao when he asks for a Harley Davidson for his 16th birthday. Bao Tien is anxiously awaited by all. It is of the magnitude of President Obama. Ok maybe not quite as many but many. :) Can't wait to see the family. love, Maria

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb