Babo (crazy) Vietnam!!!!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
August 4th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sunday 29 Aug, 1 o’clock in the morning, and I was on the train to Seoul. Then 5 o’clock on a bus to Incheon airport and at 10, I was on the plane to Vietnam!
When I finally got my bag, my airport pick-up was waiting for me. He spoke English but I could not understand a word he was saying. Later I just said ‘…yes’ and off we went.
The architecture of the houses was so different to the rest of my travels in Asia - it reminded me of Venice. I am so used to off -white, tall buildings with thousands of apartments crammed into it.
The traffic was chaos! Cars, trucks and millions of motorbikes plus every single one was hooting at every single one… to get out of the way- CRAZY!
We arrived at the hotel and my free-airport-pick-up turned out to be a $10 ride because of bad Vietnamese-English.
At the hotel they just started telling me about trips and tours but I just wanted to take a shower and get into clean clothes. Eventually they took me up to my room which was very nice for only $8 per night. (I was quite impressed)

I was clean again and it was time to explore…The sun was shining and it was HOT, and I mean HOT - everything was sticky. After getting through the traffic, the first shop that I noticed sold helmets and raincoats. I needed a helmet so this was a good time to bargain. I got the helmet for $5! A similar helmet in Korea would have cost $30.
The area where I was walking is called the Old Quarter. I found out that every street was given its name according to the goods that was sold in it. One street only had shoes, and another only toys etc… I didn’t know where to look - everywhere… just goods and goods to buy and you had to watch out for the traffic as well.
Then, I found the Dong Xuan Market and went in. The original market burnt down a few years back so they rebuilt it. Inside one could barely walk because of all the merchandise hats, shoes, fabric, bags, soft toy’s etc… At least there were no motorbikes zooming past.

The silk was extremely cheap - only R12.50p.m for embroided silk. There were so many different colors and patterns; I simply didn’t know what to choose.
If you continued down the street you would eventually get to Hoan Kiem Lake. This lake is in the middle of Hanoi and very famous for the turtle legend. In 1418 when the Chinese were fighting the Vietnamese for Vietnam, the King was walking past the lake and a big turtle came out and gave him a sword. With that sword, he conquered the Chinese. After his victory, the King rode through Hanoi and went past the lake again. The turtle came out and took the sword back. Then, something strange happened in 1968. The people of Hanoi discovered a dead giant turtle in the lake (about 2m long and +/- 500kg). Scientists estimated it to be 200 years old. When you go to the Ngoc Son Temple on the lake, you can see the preserved (or a model of the) body of that giant turtle.
While one walked down the street, one would constantly be asked if you wanted a “moto-bike” ride. You showed them on a map where you wanted to go and a good price to pay was $1 for a reasonable distance. An agreement on the price was necessary before you got on the bike. As it turned out, I was a bit unsure how to get back to my hotel and it was already dark. I hustled a guy to take me to my hotel for $1 and he, of course, started at $5.

After a good night sleep, I had to prepare to go to Ha Long Bay. I packed what was necessary in my back pack and left the rest at the hotel. At 8:20 I was picked me up and we were off. After 2 hours driving we stopped at a souvenir shop and 20min later we were off again. Another 2 hours and we stopped at Ha Long Bay harbour where we found hundreds of the boats you tour Ha Long Bay with, called a “Chinese Junk”. I was taken to my “Chinese Junk” which I shared with some Germans and Hollanders. My cabin was cozy and I felt right at home. As we departed we had lunch - prawn, crab, fish, stir-fry etc… The Vietnamese food isn’t as hot (spicy) as the Korean food and it has a nice fresh taste to it. When we reached the islands I could hardly believe my eyes as it was one of the most beautiful sights I had ever seen. There, I really realized how much I loved the sun and a beach. After about 2 hours of cruising, we arrived at an island with a huge cave.
We left the boat and in the heat, we had to climb steep rock stairs, up the side of a mountain. Once inside the cave, it was nice and cool again. The guide told us that the patterns on the ceiling of the cave were formed by the sea over a long period many years ago, and, at one point, how people got fresh water here. The cave also served as a weapon storage place in the famous Vietnam War. We walked through the massive cave and, when exiting, we had a spectacular view of Ha Long Bay.
Back on the boat we headed for a lagoon about a half an hour away. A small row boat picked us up and we were rowed through an opening in a rock and, when on the other side, there was only silence and birds in the distance. Wow! It was just so beautiful; I couldn’t take enough photos. Back on the boat we jumped into our bikinis and into the water which helped with the heat.
For dinner a friendly Holland couple invited me to have dinner with them. The man was fascinated with me speaking Afrikaans. The moon was full and one could take nice photos and watch jelly fish swim by. When I couldn’t keep my eyes open any more, I went straight to bed and I slept like a baby.
At 4:45 I got up and watched the sun come up. After breakfast we went to an island with a beach. I hiked up to a point with a view, sweat streaming down, but it was worth it. The beach was just what I needed to relax.
Back on the boat we cruised through the islands and stopped near the harbour to have lunch. Then, back at the harbour the Van picked us up again to drop us at our hotels. Wow, what a trip! I will never forget it!
Back at the hotel, and when I finally got a room again, I took a shower and took the streets on again.

Wednesday was the day for sight seeing in Hanoi. On my way to the Army Museum, I got a “motobike” to drive me around. First, the Army museum with the Hanoi Flag tower. then the Vietnam Fine Arts Museum where I enjoyed seeing traditional Vietnamese Ware, thirdly, the “Van Mieu” or the Temple of Literature, that was build in 1070 to honor scholars and iterated men. Soon after, it became Vietnam’s first University. All the names of the graduates were engraved on stone steles. 4th, the Museum of Ethnology where I saw how the Vietnamese lived through over centuries - their clothing, hats, food etc… Lastly, I took a ride to the Opera House, it was designed by a French Architect and this was where the famous Viet Minh announced to take over Hanoi from the French. Here I said to my “motobike” ride “no more”, and he wanted $50! Can you believe it? Finally, and with a long face, he left with $10. I was near Hoan Kiem Lake and I started walking back to the hotel.
Along the way I bought tickets for one of the famous Water Puppet Shows and went back to the hotel to freshen up. On my way to the Theatre, I felt someone trying to open my bag. I waited for my chance, and suddenly, turned around, and smacked him to the ground by striking him behind the head. I made a big scene to draw attention. Well, let’s hope he will think twice next time!
The Water Puppet Show, how different! The puppeteers stood thigh deep in water behind a screen while working the puppets with sticks from under the water. The show was 45min long but it felt like 10min. They told different folk tales including the one about the turtle in Hoan Kiem Lake.
Thursday I went to Phu Tay Ho (West Lake). This is the biggest lake in Hanoi, and the most exclusive property with the Presidential Palace nearby. Also near the lake, I went to the Tran Quoc Pagoda and then past the Presidential Palace (you are not aloud to take photos) I walked until I got to the famous Ho Chi Minh’s Mausoleum where you are not aloud to go to close. Just down the road, I found the One Pillar Pagoda that was built in 1049 by Ly Tai Tahong King, after he had a dream in which the Goddess of Mercy gave him a lotus flower. It was built over a lake and represents the lotus coming out of the water.
Near the Pagoda, I saw Ho Chi Minh’s Museum but it was only accessible during the morning when you can have a look at Ho Chi Minh’s preserved body and writings. On my way back to the hotel I saw the Heroes memorial and an enormous Catholic Church. For the rest of the day, shopping was in order, and I found the St Joseph’s Cathedral by accident - it looks like the Notre Dame in Paris.

On Friday morning I was picked up by a Van and we went to the Perfume Pagoda. We drove 60km SW to a village Duc Khe. From there, we were rowed on a small boat for about an hour on the Yen River and passed some temples on the way. We climbed up to a cable car, to go to the famous Perfume Pagoda (thank goodness - it was just too hot for the 2 hour hike). Then we walked down into an enormous cave and saw a few Buddhas, and, deeper inside the cave we saw more Buddhas. The Perfume Pagoda consists of about 20 temples and was (is) an important place of pilgrimage to the Buddhists. The temples and Pagodas were built in the mountains so you have to hike to reach all of them. The scenery was amazing the mountains just went on and on. We had lunch there and had a quick look at another temple.
Just as we wanted to get on the boats to be rowed back the rain came down out of no where. We got into some “plastic bag” rain coats and off we went.

Back at the hotel I paid my bill and left for the airport. 12:45 on plane to Seoul, 7 o'clock arrive in Seoul, 8:30 on a bus to Gumi and 12:30 in Gumi...What a trip I need some sleep!!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 97, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb