I'll be Home in a Week!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
November 12th 2006
Published: November 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS

until I arrive home in Tulsa!





Hi Everone,

It looks Like I am on the home-stretch. The application we are working on is almost finished. Vietnam Customs is using it now, but there are some bugs that are still being worked on. This has been a really great project and the entire team has been superb. This is probably the best project I heve been on in my 6 and a half years with Unisys.

The Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) event starts on Wednesday this week. It turns out that Russian President Vladimer Putin and Australian Prime Minister John Howard are staying in my hotel (the Hilton, Hanoi-Opera House), and so I am being forced out of here on Wednesday morning. The security here is very tight. they are closing all the roads near the hotel, there are men in suits in the lobby with microphones in their ears, only entrance is through the main door and the through a metal detector. In a way, I guess I am glad I am leaving the hotel. I have accomodations reserved at another hotel nearby, it won't be as nice, but it will only be for a couple of days.

Regarding the product demonstration, President Bush will not be making introductory remarks as we had hoped, however our Secretary of State, Condeleeza Rice (or Condi as I know her by :-)) is now scheduled to open for us. This is a really big event for Vietnam. You may have read that last week Vietnam was granted membership in the World Trade Organization (WTO). The city has been recieving about as good a scrubbing up as possible. It is said that this will be the biggest event in the history of Vietnam. Next week I am hoping that my work will consist of parties and networking. It will be a welcome change.

All My Best,

Arlyn

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb