Cat Ba - Last Day


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hai Phong » Cat Ba Island
May 31st 2010
Published: May 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I wasn't sure about staying another day in Cat Ba, but it turns out that leaving early would have been a huge mistake.

Kara and Paul, a honeymooning couple from Calgary climbed with Lizzy and I the first day. We all decided to do a motorbike tour of the national park.

For 4 dollars and 50 cents we got a bike for an entire day. Gotta love the cost of activities here. We checked out a couple of caves, one by headlight only, which was pretty awesome and tooled around the island for the day, hitting pretty much every trailhead we could find along the way.

Again, the pictures don't do the scenery justice. But I can try.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

relegated to the backrelegated to the back
relegated to the back

after walking Lizzy through the basics of motorbiking, I never got the driver's seat back ;)
rock drilling constructionrock drilling construction
rock drilling construction

note this is during normal road use. we saw a rock the size of a miata roll downhill right before we hit this corner.


1st June 2010

Spiders on steroids
In inches, what is the span of their legs? Certainly challenges my spider phobia. Do they hang out in more traveled places, or keep to themselves?
1st June 2010

Spiders
Naw, they keep to themselves, mostly high in trees or on power lines. 3 or 4 inches end to end. And thanks for the fan tip. Thank god you told me, so I don't have to suffer through the next two months wondering. I'll do my best :)
17th June 2010

I think ...
the photos are GREAT!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb