Arriving in Sapa - Cat Cat Village


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai » Sapa
July 25th 2013
Published: August 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After arriving in Sapa at 7am, I got off the bus where a bunch of Sapa Moung women greeted me asking if I had a place to stay. Sapa is known for their ethnic minority tribes who can provide home stays. They all speak very well English. I didn't have a home stay planned, but one woman gave me a bracelet which meant she had her stamp on me (apparently). I found the sapa backpackers hostel which was very cheap to stay and comfy. I arrived with a Swiss guy called Alexander, however I had missed him off the bus as he got a motorbike...lazy. I just asked the locals and they pointed me in the direction.

I dumped my bag in the dorm I was given, then Alexander and I went on the hunt for breakfast.

When returning to the hostel, I had a nice surprise to see Cat (who I met in Hanoi and went to Halong Bay with) in my room chatting to the two guys who were sleeping when I arrived. All of us apart from Alexander decided we were going to have a walk to Cat Cat village.

The day was beautiful with gorgeous surroundings. I felt lucky as days before I had arrived, it had been raining.

In and on the way to Cat Cat village there were rice fields, waterfalls, children playing in the river with buffalo only a few metres away, piglets trotting around, women and their children sleeping under trees, wooden and tin shack shops with handmade goods, people working hard carrying big chunks of wood and bamboo, their community.

After the trek, we got back and had dinner. Cat and the other other dudes were leaving so I chilled in my dorm, with my book and a few beers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb