A trip into the valley


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai » Sapa
March 16th 2011
Published: March 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

While having breakfast Tuesday morning I met Malcolm, a 38 year old father of two from Vancouver. I invited him to join our group that day for a hike down into the valley. Little did I know that the first two hours would be spent descending a very muddy trail. It was a very slow descent even with my hiking shoes and I fell on numerous occasions. By the time we reached the bottom my shoes, pants, and backside were covered in mud. We stopped at the "drive-in" market at the bottom of valley and bought water and snacks. After a brief break we began a long muddy climb on the other side of the river passing more villages and schools.

At the beginning of our hike a number of local Hmong women attached themselves to our group. Each of us getting our own "guide". Two of these women had babies strapped to their backs and another did the entire hike in flip flops.

Nearly on a daily basis I am reminded of my good fortune. We arrived for lunch at a "restaurant" in a local village after hiking for nearly three hours. As soon as we set foot under the eaves of the building it began to rain very hard. After lunch the rain subsided and we spent another hour walking to a van that returned us to our hotel. In total we hiked about ten miles in five and half hours. This hike has been the highlight of my trip.

Today I begin my long journey home. I board an overnight train tonight at 8pm headed back to Hanoi, arriving at 5am. Then take a noon flight to Ho Chi Minh City where I will board my flight for home the next morning at 6am, connecting through Hong Kong and Chicago. It will be very nice to be back in the U.S.

Just went to the lobby to get a late check out and found that it is snowing! 😊

Brian


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

DinnerDinner
Dinner

Dinner with Tom, Malcolm, Paul, Lee, and Marla. Paul and Lee are from California and are both in their mid 80's.


16th March 2011
Beginning of our hike

Home
This looks just like the Rain Forrest in Puerto Rico. Getting home sick. Great photos. Have a safe trip back.
17th March 2011

not in my house
I do believe you are muddier than when you were a kid. Pictures are fabulous. I'll be the first to volunteer to have a Vietnamese night. I'll furnish Vietnamese dinner and you furnish a slide show. Can't wait to see you on Friday. Love you, Mom
17th March 2011
Just a bit muddy

wow
That view is incredible. Can't wait to see more photos!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb