A photo model in Sapa


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai » Sapa
April 23rd 2008
Published: April 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sapa - April 2008Sapa - April 2008Sapa - April 2008

I am sitting on Hàm Rồng mountain and enjoying a great view of Sapa city below, as well as Fansipan mountain far away.
I traveled to Sapa for the first time in April 1998, ie exactly 10 years ago. At the time I traveled by bus and it took me 12 hours from Hanoi to Sapa (Never again!). Last weekend I returned to Sapa, but this time I traveled with my parents and their friends. We traveled by night train from Hanoi to Lào Cai (approx. 350km, 8 hours by train), then we got a bus to Sapa (38km, an hour by bus). Things have changed much during the last 10 years since my first visit, but the place is always beautiful with its mountain and rice terrace scenery, as well as colorful costumes of the ethnic minority people (mainly H’mong, Dzao and Tày). They are typical features of the north west region which is one of the most beautiful areas of Vietnam.

Sapa (altitude 1500-1800m) had its original name “Sa Pả”, which means “sand ground” where the locals used to gather and hold a market. In 1903, the French found the place and built up villas, offices, hydropower plant etc. Sapa is known for its cold and foggy winters (even down to 0°C). Surrounding Sapa are the Hoàng Liên moutains, nicknamed the Tonkinese Alps by the French. These mountains include Fansipan (9km from Sapa) with altitude 3,143m which is the highest peak in Indochina.

The first day on my second visit in Sapa (last weekend), we went to trek at Cát Cát village (2-3km from Sapa) and enjoyed a great view of the mountains and rice terraces around the village. We spent next morning climbing up Hàm Rồng mountain which is just a short walk from Sapa’s center. Lots of orchids and flowers are planted on the mountain. Along the way to the summit of Hàm Rồng mountain, the view of the whole city as well as mountains (including Fansipan) was just amazing.

My great experience on Hàm Rồng mountain in Sapa was the meeting with a western photographer. He was traveling with a Vietnamese guide who was also a photographer. I wore a violet Áo Dài (Vietnamese traditional dress) which attracted their attention, since they saw me on the flower garden. As I entered the theater where the traditional musical show was going to be performed, the Vietnamese man approached me and said the western man, who is a famous photographer (according to his words), wanted to take some
Special local porkSpecial local porkSpecial local pork

"Lợn cắp nách" is the name of special pigs raised at the mountainous farms in Sapa. We had this pork at the farewell party before leaving Sapa.
photos of me as my Áo Dài was so beautiful. I agreed and followed them into the forest.

The western man walked along the pathway inside the forest and checked out the place quickly then decided that we would stop next to a rock. I asked the Vietnamese man why we didn’t go out under the sun where things were clearer with sunlight. He said “No, this place is better. Under the sun, your face will be too bright.” They are professional photographers, so they know where is the best place for the good photos. The western man asked me to take off the sun glasses on my head and moved away some grasses on the rock. I even forgot to comb my hair. Both men started taking photos of me standing by the rock and I changed different positions. The only sound I heard was of the continuous shots from their professional cameras, perhaps one shot every second. I wanted to make a big smile, the western man said “Don’t smile!”, so I just kept my eyes looking straight into his camera. During 10 minutes, I followed their instructions “Look at me!”, “Look at the forest!”, “A little smile” then “Walk again!” For the first time in my life I worked as a model with professional photographers. In other cases, some people only took one or two photos of me because of my Áo Dài. I told them I didn’t have any special make up, so maybe I didn’t look good, but they said they preferred a natural style. The photos looked great and both were happy meeting me. We can hardly find an Áo Dài over there, as the locals are ethnic minority people, who wear their own traditional dress. Although there were not much light inside the forest and I didn’t see any flash from their cameras, the photos looked really bright, especially my violet Áo Dài. The Vietnamese man asked me whether I wanted to join with them to some villages in the afternoon, but I said I had to go back to Hanoi by night train.

When the work finished, we went back to the theater. The western man put some money into my hand and said “This makes you remember me” and quickly ran away to the theater, as the show already started for a while. I walked back my way and didn’t see anyone in my group, as they already left. When I opened the money that the western man gave me, it was US$30. I was surprised he gave me so much money, as it was a simple thing to be a photo model for a few minutes and I expected nothing from them. Now, I'm glad that my photos will be published in some magazine or book on Vietnam. I decided to spend that money making a new Áo Dài for another trip and whenever I wear it, I will remember him and this interesting experience. In fact, 10 years ago, I had an offer from a French fashion company to work on a one year contract as a model. I didn’t take the offer, as I preferred working with my knowledge and I always wanted to go to Japan. I didn’t need to be a model and still had many great photos, especially with my traditional dress Áo Dài.

Back to Hàm Rồng mountain. I didn’t find anyone there and was confused by the different directions. Fortunately, I met 3 women and followed them. We climbed up to Cổng Trời (Heaven Gate) and Sân Mây (Cloud Ground). Finally, I met my parents and their friends on the way down to the city. Three of us were separated on the different ways. My father didn’t want to climb up the mountain, so he stayed at the theater, which is located at the middle level of the mountain and enjoyed the musical show with some other old men, while my mother was in another group and I spent time with the photographers and other people I met along the way.

One of the symbols of Sapa is the old French church at the center of the city, where we can see lots of ethnic minority people gather and sell their products to the tourists. The market is another highlight of the city with all the local specialties. As for the food, barbecue is the most popular food, they even make egg barbecue. We had a farewell party before leaving Sapa with the famous local pork “Lợn cắp nách”. The pigs are not fed, as the locals are poor and they even don’t have enough food to eat. The pigs have to find the food by themselves and they eat vegetable and grass. After a year, when the pigs
Hàm Rồng mountainHàm Rồng mountainHàm Rồng mountain

I am sitting near the Heaven Gate on Hàm Rồng mountain in Sapa (altitude 1,600m).
are approx.15-20kg in weight, the owners sell them. We ordered a pig of 11kg in weight and paid VND 1.8 million (US$120). The pigs were grilled and its black skin is very hard, while the pork is very soft and delicious. The grilled pork is eaten with a special sauce.

Leaving Sapa on a sunny afternoon, we again enjoyed a great view of the mountains along the way while hearing the song about Sapa. I loved these words of the song “Sapa - thành phố trong sương” (Sapa - the city in the mist). I remember how foggy it was, when going up to Sapa from Lào Cai at 8:00am, feeling like I was going by an ocean of fog, when standing at the balcony of my hotel and seeing the mist at the mountains in front of me, or walking along Sapa’s streets last Saturday night after visiting the Love Market. The fog appeared so quickly, just a few seconds, it spread out and the street lights became yellow spots. I loved that sight. The locals always have baskets on their backs and bring umbrellas with them, as the weather is changeable, sometimes sun shines, a few minutes later, it becomes foggy, even rains. April and May are the best months to visit Sapa. Another good time is September, when we can view yellow rice terraces during the harvest. At the other time of the year, it may be cold and misty. During the summer time, rain may cause landslide along the way. However, Sapa is always a great destination for the tourists who love trekking. At any time of the year, we can see western tourists over there, some even live at the villages on the home stay tours.

The photos in this blog were taken in Sapa on Saturday and Sunday 19 and 20 April 2008. This is also the 40th blog in my list. When I joined this website 3 months ago, I didn’t think that I could make so many blogs. Now I got them and love this website. I’m looking forward to another trip next week. On 30 April, I’ll be traveling back to China on the 6th visit. My next destinations will be Guilin and Nanning.

Other blogs about my trip to Sapa:

Cát Cát village

Sapa market

Sapa – Ngày 19 & 20/4/2008

Đây là lần thứ hai tôi đến Sapa. Chuyến đi lần trước của tôi đến Sapa cách đây đúng 10 năm. Trong chuyến đi Sapa lần này, tôi đi cùng cha mẹ và các bạn của họ. Vì không có nhiều thời gian, nên lần này tôi chỉ kịp quay trở lại bản Cát Cát, thăm thị xã Sapa và núi Hàm Rồng. Trong chuyến đi lần trước, tôi cũng đã đến thăm bản Tà Phìn và nhà thờ mất mái của Pháp ở gần đó. Tôi rất muốn xem sau 10 năm Sapa đã thay đổi thế nào.

Sapa nằm ở độ cao 1.500-1.800m có tên ban đầu là “Sa Pả”, có nghĩa là “bãi cát”, nơi những người dân địa phương thường tụ tập và họp chợ. Vào năm 1903, người Pháp tìm thấy nơi này và xây dựng nên các biệt thự, văn phòng, nhà máy điện v.v. Sapa có thời tiết lạnh và sương mù vào mùa đồng (thậm chí dưới 0°C). Xung quanh Sapa là dãy Hoàng Liên Sơn với đỉnh Fansipan (cách Sapa 9km) có độ cao 3.143m là nóc nhà Đông Dương.

9 giờ tối thứ sáu, ngày 18/4. chúng tôi đi bằng xe lửa lên Lào Cai. Sau 8 tiếng đồng hồ trên tàu, đến 5 giờ sáng thì chúng tôi tới thành phố Lào Cai. Cả đoàn nghỉ ngơi một lát, ăn sáng, rồi lên xe ô tô để lên Sapa. Lúc này là 8 giờ sáng, đường lên núi ngoằn ngoèo, sương mù dăng đầy dọc triền núi, có cảm giác như tôi đang đi cạnh một biển mây và sương mù. Cũng có đoạn thì quang đãng và nhìn thấy rõ núi non và ruộng bậc thang. Từ phía dưới, chúng tôi có thể nhìn thấy những con đường ở phía trên cao và sau những khúc cua thì chúng tôi đã ở trên đó.

Sau khi đến Sapa, việc đầu tiên là tôi đi bộ ra nhà thờ đá là trung tâm của thị xã. Tôi đi tắt qua chợ Sapa, dọc đường tranh thủ chụp hình các đồ bán ở chợ (xem Blog link bên dưới), như các loại cây và lá thuốc, các loại rượu trong chai, những con búp bê mặc trang phục dân tộc, bánh rán, bành chưng, tranh gỗ, khăn quàng cổ, hoa lan và cây cảnh v.v. Cuối cùng thì tôi cũng ra đến
At the border between Vietnam and ChinaAt the border between Vietnam and ChinaAt the border between Vietnam and China

After leaving Sapa, we were back in Lào Cai and spent some minutes visiting the border area between Vietnam and China, which is very close to Lào Cai city.
nhà thờ đá Sapa. Bên ngoài bậc thang nhà thờ là những người dân tộc bày đồ thổ cẩm bán cho khách du lịch. Trên khoảng sân gần nhà thờ có những cửa hàng của người dân tộc bày bán đồ ngay trên mặt đất. Ở đây có những đồ thổ cẩm rất đẹp. Đi ngang qua khu chợ, tôi thấy nhà tắm lá thuốc của người Dzao đỏ, giá tiền là 50.000 đồng cho 15 phút.

Chúng tôi dành buổi chiều đầu tiên đến thăm bản Cát Cát (xem Blog link bên dưới). Khi tôi quay về phòng của mình, sương mù dăng đầy đỉnh núi phía trước khách sạn. Lúc trưa, khi đứng ở ban công, dưới ánh nắng chiều thì thấy núi non trùng điệp ở phía xa xa và một thửa ruộng bậc thang trông rất đẹp, nhưng đến chiều tối và sáng sớm thì sương mù dăng đầy và chỉ còn một màu trắng xóa. Vì hôm nay là thứ bảy, nên có Chợ tình của người dân tộc H’mong vào buổi tối. Tôi quay trở lại khu vực nhà thờ đá. 10 năm trước, tôi xem chợ tình ở ngay sân nhà thờ đá, nhưng hiện giờ thì chợ tình họp ở một bãi đất gần đó. Mấy người dân tộc thổi khèn quay vòng tròn được một lát thì dừng lại và chạy ra chỗ khách du lịch xin tiền. Được một lúc thì mọi người chán cảnh đó, nên ùa sang xem một tốp các ông bà Tây vừa hát vừa nhảy múa “miễn phí” ở gần đó. Cũng có cảnh mấy cô gái người dân tộc cầm ô nhảy được vài điệu tập thể cùng các chàng trai thổi khèn, nhưng rất ít. Mọi người nói là phải đến 11 giờ đêm mới có chợ tình thực sự của những người dân tộc. Trên đường về khách sạn, tôi ghé vào chỗ mấy người Dzao đỏ bày bán đồ thổ cẩm trên vỉa hè. Mấy cậu thanh niên trêu các chị bán hàng và các chị trả lời bằng tiếng Kinh rất thật thà và vui nhộn. Tôi thích sự thân thiện và gần gũi của người Dzao đỏ. Còn với người H’mong đen thì có vẻ khó tiếp xúc hơn, vì họ giữ khoảng cách và họ cũng nói tiếng Anh giỏi hơn tiếng Kinh. Đi thêm một đoạn nữa thì gặp hai bà cụ người Dzao đỏ cũng bày bán hàng trước cửa một ngôi nhà. Một bà cụ có hàm răng móm mém và khuôn mặt nhăn nheo với chiếc khăn quấn trên đầu giống như trong những tấm bưu ảnh và tranh vẽ mà tôi đã từng thấy. Cuối cùng thì tôi cũng mua được một chiếc đai thắt eo và một chiếc túi nhỏ có hình thêu tay rất đẹp của người Dzao đỏ để làm kỷ niệm cho chuyến đi này.

Chủ nhật, ngày 20/4, là một ngày thú vị trong những chuyến đi của tôi. Buổi sáng, chúng tôi khởi hành lúc 8 giờ leo lên núi Hàm Rồng. Sau khi leo lên một đoạn, cả đoàn dừng chân nghỉ ngơi ở Vườn lan 1. Tiếp theo là nơi có thể ngắm toàn cảnh thành phố Sapa. Đi tiếp qua mấy núi đá và hồ nước, chúng tôi đi ra một khoảng không rộng lớn. Ở đây có một vườn hoa với rất nhiều loại hoa như hoa loa kèn, hoa cúc trắng, hoa cúc vàng, cùng những luống hoa nhỏ tí xíu. Một dòng chữ “Sapa” kết bằng hoa rất lớn, cạnh đó là một cô công nhân đang trồng và sửa hoa. Tiếp theo là nhà hát biểu diễn ca múa nhạc ở lưng chừng núi. Đó là một ngôi nhà sàn, ở tầng trên là nơi biểu diễn, tầng dưới là nơi du khách ngồi nghỉ ngơi, uống nước, mua đồ lưu niệm hoặc thuê quần áo dân tộc mặc vào để chụp ảnh. Khi tôi vừa bước chân vào khu nhà thì có một anh nói giọng bắc lai nam chỉ vào ông người nước ngoài ngồi đối diện và nói “Ông này là một nhiếp ảnh gia nổi tiếng. Ông ấy muốn chụp hình Áo Dài của em. Lúc nãy nhìn thấy em chụp ảnh ở chỗ vườn hoa đẹp quá”. Tôi đồng ý và rất nhanh nhẹn, mọi người đứng lên đi vào con đường nhỏ bên trong rừng. Tôi hỏi anh người Việt là tại sao không ra bên ngoài có nắng để chụp ảnh mà lại vào nơi tối. Anh nói là ở ngoài nắng, khuôn mặt sẽ bị quá sáng. Tôi thậm chí quên cả chải tóc, vì mọi người làm việc nhanh quá làm cho tôi không kịp nghĩ mình sẽ làm gì. Ông Tây bảo tôi đứng cạnh hòn đá to ở bên đường. Ông nhổ mấy gốc cây xù xì ở trên hòn đá và tôi đứng dựa lưng vào hòn đá. Ông cũng nhắc tôi không cười, nên tôi phải giữ nguyên khuôn mặt và nhìn thẳng vào máy ảnh của ông. Cả hai chiếc máy ảnh bắt đầu chụp lia lịa và âm thanh duy nhất tôi nghe thấy là tiếng bấm lách tách của máy ảnh, có lẽ là mỗi tấm ảnh chỉ chụp mất một giây. Lần đầu tiên trong đời tôi làm người mẫu ảnh với các nhiếp ảnh gia chuyên nghiệp. Những lần khác khi tôi mặc Áo Dài, mọi người chỉ xin chụp một hay hai tấm ảnh vì chiếc Áo Dài của tôi thu hút sự chú ý của họ và họ muốn chụp để làm kỷ niệm. Sau khi chụp ảnh cạnh hòn đá, tôi đi dọc theo con đường nhỏ trong bóng tối của khu rừng. Hoàn toàn không hề có nhiều ánh sáng hay đèn flash của máy ảnh. Khi anh người Việt cho tôi xem hình trên máy, tôi chỉ kịp nhìn thoáng qua nhưng thấy ảnh vẫn
Theater on Hàm Rồng mountainTheater on Hàm Rồng mountainTheater on Hàm Rồng mountain

This is the place where I met the two photographers and became their photo model.
rất sáng và màu Áo Dài tím nổi bật trên khuôn hình. Sau đó, chúng tôi quay trở lại nhà hát. Ông Tây nhét tiền tip 30 USD vào tay tôi và nói cảm ơn, rồi ông đi rất nhanh vào bên trong nhà hát vì chương trình biểu diễn đã bắt đầu được một lúc. Tôi hoàn toàn bất ngờ vì chỉ nghỉ đơn giản là có những người quan tâm đến Áo Dài Việt Nam và tôi tự hào vì điều đó. Tôi quyêt định dùng số tiền này để may một chiếc Áo Dài mới và sẽ mặc vào ngày kỷ niệm sinh nhật của tôi ở Sukhothai, Thái Lan vào tháng 6 tới, tức là hai tháng sau chuyến đi này.

Quay trở lại con đường xuống nhá hát, tôi chẳng thấy có ai ở trong đoàn nữa, vì mọi người đã đi từ lâu rồi, trong lúc tôi chụp ảnh. Thật may là có ba người phụ nữ cũng đi qua đó và tôi đi cùng họ. Chúng tôi lên đến “Cổng trời 1” với nhấp nhô núi đá. Sau đó là “Sân Mây”, từ đây có thể nhìn thấy toàn cảnh thành phô
Rice porridge with salmon in SapaRice porridge with salmon in SapaRice porridge with salmon in Sapa

Cháo cá hồi (Rice porridge with salmon) is served at a restaurant in Sapa. Salmon is raised in this area because of the cool climate.
Sapa ở bên dưới. Chỗ này gió rất to, nên tóc tôi bay lung tung. Sau đó, tôi đi một mình xuống con đường nhỏ và cuối cùng thì cũng gặp mọi người trong đoàn. Khi đi xuống núi, tôi gặp cha mẹ tôi. Hóa ra, cha của tôi ở lại nhà hát để xem biểu diễn văn nghệ cùng mấy cụ già vì không muốn leo núi, còn mẹ của tôi thì đi cùng một nhóm khác. Ba người chúng tôi đi theo ba hướng khác nhau và cuối cùng thì gặp lại nhau ở ngoài cổng lên núi Hàm Rồng.

Buổi chiều, chúng tôi lên xe quay lại Lào Cai. Chúng tôi dành thời gian thăm chợ Cốc Lếu ở Lào Cai và ghé thăm khu vực cửa khẩu. Anh hướng dẫn viên người Lào Cai nói là vào năm 1979, khi quân Trung Quốc kéo sang chiếm Lào Cai, toàn bộ thành phố đã bị phá hủy và quân đội Việt Nam cũng cài rất nhiều mìn ở đây. Toàn bộ nhà cửa ở Lào Cai hiện nay được xây mới lại. Tại khu vực cửa khẩu, chúng tôi nhìn thấy nhà cửa ở phía bên kia bờ sông Nậm Thi, nơi đó là Hà Khẩu. Tôi cũng đã từng đi qua cửa khẩu này để sang Trung Quốc trong chuyến đi Kunming 3 năm trước. Chúng tôi thăm đền Mẫu ở cạnh đó rồi quay về khách sạn ở Lào Cai ăn tối. Cả đoàn lên tàu lúc 7 giờ rưỡi tối và về đến Hà Nội lúc 4 giờ rưỡi sáng hôm sau.

Hai món ăn đặc biệt mà tôi thưởng thức trong chuyến đi này là món “lơn cắp nách”. Cả đoàn đặt một con lợn nặng 11kg cho bữa ăn trưa cuối cùng ở Sapa. Vỏ bên ngoài của con lợn sau khi nướng thì rất cứng và không thể ăn được. Bên trong thịt lợn có màu hồng, rất mềm và thơm ngon. Thịt lợn này ăn cùng một loại nước chấm như là nước tương. Món thứ hai là món canh “củ khởi”. Đó là một loại rau chứ không phải là củ như tên gọi của nó. Rau có màu sắc và vị rất giống rau ngót, nhưng mềm hơn.

Điều mà tôi thích nhất trong chuyến đi này là được nhìn thấy phong cảnh núi non và ruộng bậc thang lúc trời nắng đẹp, chợ Sapa với những người dân tộc địu con và những đặc sản của địa phương, cuộc gặp gỡ với những nhiếp ảnh gia chuyên nghiệp và món quà bất ngờ sau khi làm người mẫu ảnh cho họ trong vòng 10 phút. Tôi rất thích câu hát “Ơi Sapa, thành phố trong sương” trên băng nhạc khi chúng tôi đang trên đường về lại Lào Cai. Đang trên đường rời khỏi Sapa sau một khoảng thời gian thú vị mà lại được nghe một bài hát về Sapa, trong lúc ngắm nhìn cảnh núi non hùng vĩ, ai cũng cảm thấy thật bồi hồi và yêu mến nơi này.

Các Blog khác về chuyến đi đến Sapa:

Cát Cát village

Sapa market


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 41


Advertisement



23rd April 2008

Excellent Blog Entry
As alway, great story and interesting, well-done photos! matt
25th April 2008

Hi Hongha, you should have set up your blog long time ago...but never too late since you have so much to write & contribute. I used to read about your contribution on Lonely Planet. I visited Hanoi after Christmas in 2007 but only stayed four days. Went to Halong 2D1N. Enjoyed Halong Bay cruise very much. Something differnt staying on a junk boat. The weather was cold & windy in the open sea. Other than that, everything was just wonderful. Saw Hanoi people welcoming new year. I plan to visit Sapa next time & your write up on Sapa is helpful. Keep writing.

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 14; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb