Travelling to Halong bay and finding our feet.


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
November 8th 2016
Published: November 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Some of the many scooters in Hanoi.Some of the many scooters in Hanoi.Some of the many scooters in Hanoi.

I have never seen so many scooters! They are everywhere, adding to the wonderfully noisy chaos.
Second morning I woke up surprisingly easily, which is lucky as the breakfast the hotel provided took a bit of navigation. They offered bacon, sausages, croissants and toast, alongside noodles, stir fried vegetables, salads and dumplings.

An early bus ride took us to Halong bay, slightly less hair raising than the taxi and we got some great views of the city out of the window. Busy, noisy and colourful - it was striking in its immediacy. Scooters everywhere and shops selling everything you could imagine (and things you can't!).

Heading to the outskirts of the city we saw lots of water buffalo and ducks as well as hundreds of people working in the fields wearing the traditional conical hats.

The hostel is not so impressive and the beds are hard but I still can't help but find myself loving this country anyway. The windows are thin and let in the sounds of traffic and shouting which serve as a constant reminder of where I am - not a bad thing!

Finding vegetarian food proved interesting but in the end a backpacker hostel spoke enough English to get me a plate of vegetable fried rice - I need
My first view of the islands off Halong bay.My first view of the islands off Halong bay.My first view of the islands off Halong bay.

The cable car gave us a great taster of the beauty of the islands.
to remember to brush up on my Vietnamese communication skills I think.

Finding ourselves wandering we spotted a cable car and, obviously, hopped on for a ride. It turns out to be the largest cable car in the world and the tallest tower. With a great view of Halong bay and leading to an impressive Ferris wheel it was a great find!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The huge ferris wheel on a hill.The huge ferris wheel on a hill.
The huge ferris wheel on a hill.

One of the most spectacular views I've seen from the top of a Ferris wheel!


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb