Cat Ba Island


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
July 22nd 2013
Published: August 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The second day of the trip.

Those of us who were left boarded another boat and were taken to Cat Ba Island where we visited Cat Ba National Park. Caroline, Ally and I stuck together as there was us and a Dutch family left from our group.

Cat Ba national park was great. We went off alone trekking up and through the mountain. Some of it was tough and we were practically rock climbing - I loved it! We reached the top and had views of the rest of the park. Happy!

After getting back down to ground level, we made our way to Cat Ba, where we checked into our hotel, had lunch and for the rest of the afternoon we had free time. I took a walk around the bay and to the beach alone as I had missed Alastair and Caroline (after a quick sneaky nap). I found a lovely bar/restaurant where I had a Vietnamese coffee and a passion fruit smoothie while watching over the bright, sunny harbour. It felt bliss. However, even though I don't mind being alone, it would have been nice to share it with someone.

I carried walking and found the beach with big waves where many Asian people (over 100) were jumping around in the sea and having lots of fun.

I got back to the hotel to have dinner with Alistair and Caroline, then found a bar where we had a couple of beers and chilled out. I think they must love Enrique as they played his music for most of the night :/

The next morning we headed back to Hanoi, where I stayed another night in funky monkey to plan my next move. I got chatting to Bjorn who gave me advice on places he had been and I made the choice of Sapa 😊 So I got the night bus and arrived there at around 7am.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb