Halong Bay


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
July 21st 2013
Published: August 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Waking up early for the bus to collect me to take me to Halong bay on a 3 day, 2 night trip.

Cat, a canadian girl I had chatted to at the hostel a few nights before was also doing this trip but only doing 2 day, 1 night stay. She had been picked up on time, but I was still waiting. 15 minutes later than the suggested pick up time, my pick up arrived...a chick on a motorbike. She drove me through the crazy roads to the bus where everyone was waiting for me (even Cat was on there). They obviously forgot about me.

I arrived in Halong Bay at 12.30pm, where we clambered into a small boat that took us to our small cruise ship. I shared a room with Cat, which worked out well that we already knew each other. The group had some lunch onboard ship then were taken to Dong Thieng Cung Caves. It was very touristy, but the cave was pretty amazing. So big but lit up nicely inside.

After this experience, we had 45 minutes of kayaking around the bay. Cat and I had a double kayak together. There was an episode of thinking we could get through a small cave but ended up getting stuck, so paddled back out. This was a lot of fun and our surroundings were just amazing. I was happy.

Back on our cruiser, we were taken to a small beach where we could either do some swimming or climb up to the view point. View point it was. It was glorious as the sun was actually out by this point. I also chatted more to the Scottish couple, Caroline and Alistair, who were also doing the 3 day, 2 night.

The evening was spent chilling on top deck of the boat relaxing with others from the group.

Advertisement



4th August 2013

Halong Bay
Sounds great. Love to see photos.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb