Two out of seven


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
July 29th 2012
Published: July 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

When planning what to do and see while I was in Vietnam, everyone told me I needed to go to Ha Long Bay. I didn't really do much research other then a few google image searches and it looked really neat, so I booked a trip with my hostel I was staying at in Hanoi. The one thing I did learn was that you get what you pay for on these trips to Ha Long Bay and not to be too cheap. With this advice I had to choose between a 60, 75 or 85 dollar excursion for my two day, one night trip aboard a boat in the bay. I went for the 85 dollar mostly because it would have less people maxing out at 14 on the boat. It was a good choice!



I didn't realize that Ha Long Bay was recently titled one of the seven natural wonders of the world. This would make the second natural wonder I visited (Iguazu falls in Argentina being the other) this would also explain why it felt like every tourist in Vietnam was there. The whole experience is definitely a built up tourist thing now, but it kind of has to be considering just how many people there were! I was happy though, that despite the crowds, once one the boat and out to the sites, it feels more like your own experience... Or maybe that was because I paid more.



With my package, I got transportation to and from Ha Long Bay (4 hours each way), a guide, 4 deluxe meals (more like feasts they were so good), a cave tour, and kayak/swimming tour. I was really happy with the tour and really enjoyed the other people on the boat. This time the dominating country was Denmark with 8 of the 13 of the group from there. They were lots of fun and also interesting to talk with being from one of the happiest countries in the world.



While the tour was very scheduled and felt like you were being ushered from thing to thing at time, it was also really relaxing and had a bit of down time on the boat to relax and enjoy the views and do water ever you would like. I was deeply engrossed in my book at the time, so I was excited to have some time to finish it. It's not to often I really get into a book, so I had to chuckle at myself that I really want to read!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



1st August 2012

Wow !!
Todd - I have been enjoying your escapades and hillarious stories from all the different places that you have visited on this journey. You are certainly a brave one to go out of one's comfort zone like you do! Be safe -

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0978s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb