Lạng Sơn (North East - Part 3)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Lang Son
June 6th 2012
Published: June 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Special food in Lạng Sơn citySpecial food in Lạng Sơn citySpecial food in Lạng Sơn city

We had lunch and dinner in the city. Our tour guide ordered local specialties, so we could taste various types of food.
Day 3 & Day 4 of the 4-day North East trip (30 & 31 May 2012) - We left Cao Bằng town at 2pm and expected the Highway No. 4B to Lạng Sơn would be better than the road we traveled to Bản Giốc waterfall the day before. The distance from Cao Bằng town to Lạng Sơn city is only 130km, of which 20km are in bad condition. But we were wrong. The worst challenge was ahead of us. On the way it rained, then the sun shined again. When we reached Tràng Định district of Lạng Sơn province (45km away from Lạng Sơn city), we saw a long line of trucks waiting in vain. Two heavy trucks were stuck on the muddy road, one of them was even inclining as if it was going to fall over the ground. Our driver asked us to get out of the car and walk forwards, so the car would be lighter and it was easy for him to get over this difficult road.

A policeman came and asked all the cars going from our direction to wait until the long line of trucks going from the opposite direction could go through. We
Vịt quay Lạng Sơn (roasted duck meat)Vịt quay Lạng Sơn (roasted duck meat)Vịt quay Lạng Sơn (roasted duck meat)

One of the food that we really liked as the sauce was great.
didn’t know how long time we would have to wait. This is a remote area by the Kỳ Cùng river. There are a few local houses and a base camp of workers who are building the road. We couldn’t find any shop, guesthouse or restaurant near the place. We even thought about the worst situation. Five of us would go by motorbike or by taxi to the nearest town, leaving driver and his car over there. Anyway, we still hoped to get through this place before it was getting dark.

An excavator moved upwards and pulled the first truck out of the mud then covered the muddy road with crushed stone. I walked toward the second truck which was inclining. The truck drivers tied a rope with the front truck with the hope that the front truck could tow it out of the troubled place. It didn’t work until the excavator came and the truck driver had to pay US$50 for the service.

I saw our tour guide on the other side of the road, so I decided to cross the muddy road and get to that side. Problem was that I didn’t know how deep the mud
Bánh áp chao (pancake with onion)Bánh áp chao (pancake with onion)Bánh áp chao (pancake with onion)

Nothing inside the pancake (Bánh này không có nhân mà chỉ có hành phủ ở bên ngoài).
would be until I stepped into it. I was stuck in the mud as it was deeper than I thought. The local people were sitting in front of their houses and laughing at the passengers who were struggling with the mud same like me. I joked to them “Today I have mud bath”. This situation was really amusing and unforgetable, same as being chased by dogs in Tam Kỳ, or hiding in a bush to avoid hailstones in Kathmandu valley. But it was still better than being bitten by a dog in Nha Trang and having a motorbike accident in Phú Quốc island.

When I got into the other side of the road, my feet were full of mud and there was no water for washing them up. Water is a precious thing for the locals, as they have to buy fresh water and use rain water for various purposes. I decided to sit down by a house and waited until my muddy feet were dry. Some school girls standing next to me complained they couldn’t get any water as the locals refused to give it to them. A truck driver approached me and we started a friendly conversation. He said this happened many times on this route and some days he had to order dinner at the local houses. Then he took me to the workers base camp and I could use rain water for washing up my feet. After drinking tea with the workers, I sat down and watched people pushing their cars and buses over a muddy slope which they used as a short cut. Finally, the road was smooth again after the inclining truck was saved. The truck driver said good bye to me and walked toward his truck. I found my car and moved on to Lạng Sơn city. So we only had been stuck on the muddy road for 3 hours. We arrived at Lạng Sơn city at 8pm and had a great dinner with about 10 dishes, most of them were local specialties. Lạng Sơn province has a border line with China. The Friendship Pass (Hữu Nghị Quan) on the way to Nanning is one of three international border gates with China. Owing to commercial exchange with China, the city is more developed than other towns I’ve been to on the North East tour.

Next morning we decided to make a
Khâu nhục (pork with herb)Khâu nhục (pork with herb)Khâu nhục (pork with herb)

One of local specialties in Lạng Sơn province, along with roasted duck meat and pork (Thịt lợn kho mềm cùng với các loại thảo mộc và gia vị).
trip to Mẫu Sơn mountain which is located 30km from Lạng Sơn city following Highway No. 4B. It took us an hour to get there. This site was not included on the tour, so we paid directly to the driver. The road is so narrow and winding that only one car can get through, but at every section there is a widened space. When we got to the top of Mẫu Sơn mountain (altitutde 1300), it was so cold and misty that we couldn’t see the great scenery. In the winter it’s very cold over there, even minus zero, and the ice over trees makes the scenery spectacular and it attracts lots of tourists. There are some old French villas on the top of the mountain which are used as guesthouses. The scenery along the way up and down the pass is so amazing.

We had a quick look at Nhị Thanh and Tam Thanh caves, then spent half an hour shopping at Đông Kinh market. This is a favorite destination for the Vietnamese whenever they visit the city. The products sold at the market are all made in China. On the way back to Hanoi we visited Phật
View from Mẫu Sơn mountainView from Mẫu Sơn mountainView from Mẫu Sơn mountain

I am going up to the top of Mẫu Sơn mountain (1300m). The colorful hat that I am wearing is of the travel company I booked tour with on this trip. (Phong cảnh trên đường lên đỉnh núi Mẫu Sơn ở độ cao 1300m. Chiếc mũ sặc sỡ màu xanh nõn chuối và màu đỏ là của Công ty du lịch New Star Tour).
Tích pagoda in Bắc Ninh province.

I didn’t expect I had so many things to tell about Lạng Sơn in this blog. My highlights were the trip to Mẫu Sơn mountain, meeting with a good truck driver who helped me get water on the muddy road, and enjoying food. There are some local specialties as you see in my photos. My next blog will be about Cao Bằng with some great photos.

Other blogs about the same trip:

Tuyên Quang (North East - Part 1)

Ba Bể lake (North East - Part 2)

Bản Giốc waterfall (North East - Part 4)

Travel tips: Lạng Sơn city is only 150km north of Hanoi and the Highway No. 1 is in good condition so it’s easy to get there by bus or by train. I once took a train from Lạng Sơn to Hanoi and it took me 6 hours as the train stopped at many stations. If you travel by car or by bus it only takes 3 hours. Friendship Pass is 190km north of Hanoi. Read my blog about Nanning: Nanning city (TP Nam Ninh)

Lạng Sơn – Ngày 30 & 31/5/2012

Chúng tôi rời khỏi thị xã Cao Bằng vào lúc 2 giờ chiều với hy vọng là đường Quốc lộ 4B đến
Flowers on Mẫu Sơn mountainFlowers on Mẫu Sơn mountainFlowers on Mẫu Sơn mountain

Hoa cẩm tú cầu màu hồng và tím được trồng rất nhiều ở trên đỉnh Mẫu Sơn.
Lạng Sơn sẽ dễ dàng hơn con đường lên thác Bản Giốc mà chúng tôi đã đi ngày hôm qua. Khoảng cách từ thị xã Cao Bằng đến thành phố Lạng Sơn là 130km, trong đó có 20km đường xấu. Nhưng chúng tôi đã nhầm. Con đường tồi tệ nhất đang chờ đợi chúng tôi ở phía trước. Trên đường đi, trời mưa, nhưng sau đó thì hửng nắng. Khi chúng tôi đến địa phận huyện Tràng Định của tỉnh Lạng Sơn (cách TP Lạng Sơn 45km), chúng tôi thấy một hàng xe tải thật dài đang đứng yên chờ đợi trong vô vọng. Hai chiếc xe tải nặng đang bị sa lầy trong vũng bùn nhão, một xe thậm chí còn nghiêng như sắp đổ sang bên đường. Anh lái xe bảo mọi người ra khỏi xe và đi bộ cho nhẹ xe và để anh có thể dễ dàng vượt qua đoạn đường khó khăn này.

Một chú công an xuất hiện và yêu cầu tất cả xe đi từ hướng của chúng tôi phải chờ cho đến khi các xe ở hướng ngược lại thông suốt thì chúng tôi mới được đi. Chúng tôi hoàn toàn
Picture of a boy from Dzao ethnic minority groupPicture of a boy from Dzao ethnic minority groupPicture of a boy from Dzao ethnic minority group

At the restaurant in Lạng Sơn city.
không biết được là mình sẽ phải chờ ở đây trong bao lâu. Đây là vùng hẻo lánh bên dòng sông Kỳ Cùng. Ở đây chỉ có vài ngôi nhà dân và một khu lán trại của công nhân làm đường. Chúng tôi chẳng thấy có bất kỳ một cửa hàng, hay nhà nghỉ và quán ăn nào ở đây. Chúng tôi thậm chí đã nghĩ đến phương án xấu nhất là 5 người sẽ đi xe ôm rồi bắt taxi về thị trấn nào đó gần nhất, để lại anh lái xe và ô tô ở đây cho đến khi thông đường. Tuy nhiên, lúc này thì chúng tôi sẽ chờ đợi và hy vọng chúng tôi sẽ đi qua được đoạn đường này trước khi trời tối.

Một chiếc máy đào xuất hiện và kéo chiếc xe tải thứ nhất ra khỏi đám bùn, sau đó thì tôi nghe thấy tiếng xúc đất để làm bằng phẳng đoạn đường. Tôi đi về hướng chiếc xe tải thứ hai đang bị nghiêng. Người lái xe tải buộc dây vào chiếc xe phía trước để kéo xe, nhưng kết cục là dây bị đứt. Mãi về sau, chiếc máy
Young passengers pushing their busYoung passengers pushing their busYoung passengers pushing their bus

Everyone was so happy when the bus could get onto the road and they could go on toward Cao Bằng (opposite direction with us).
đào mới đến và kéo chiếc xe này lên, đồng thời đổ đất san phẳng đoạn đường. Người lái xe tải phải trả 1 triệu đồng cho người lái chiếc máy đào để thoát ra khỏi chỗ phiền toái này.

Nhìn thấy hướng dẫn viên của đoàn đang ở phía bên kia đường, tôi quyết định đi về hướng đó. Vấn đề là ở chỗ, tôi không biết bùn ở đây sâu đến mức độ nào, cho đến khi tôi bước xuống. Kết cục là tôi bị sa lầy trong vũng bùn đất nhão vì nó sâu hơn tôi tưởng rất nhiều. Mấy người dân ngồi bên ngoài nhà nhìn thấy những khách đi xe bị sa lầy giống như tôi thì cười. Tôi đùa với họ ”Hôm nay được tắm bùn”. Tình huống này thật khôi hài và cũng thật đáng nhớ, giống như khi tôi bị lũ chó ở Tam Kỳ đuổi theo khi đi bằng xe ôm, hay nấp dưới bụi cây để tránh mưa đá ở thung lũng Kathmandu. Nhưng dù sao thì cũng còn tốt hơn là bị một con chó cắn vào chân khi ở Nha Trang hay tai nạn xe máy ở
Lợn quay (roasted pork)Lợn quay (roasted pork)Lợn quay (roasted pork)

The locals roast the pigs in a special way, using leaves and sauce.
đảo Phú Quốc.

Khi tôi sang đến bên kia đường, chân của tôi dính toàn bùn. Ở đây hoàn toàn không có nước rửa chân. Nước là một thứ quý giá với người dân ở đây, vì họ phải mua nước sạch để dùng, còn nước mưa thì dùng vào nhiều việc. Tôi quyết định ngồi lên một khúc gỗ cạnh một ngôi nhà dân và chờ cho đến khi bùn ở chân khô đi. Mấy cô bé học sinh đi chân đất phàn nàn là không xin được nước của nhà dân, có người còn bị mắng vì dùng nước của họ. Một cậu thanh niên đứng gần tôi bắt chuyện. Cậu hỏi tôi đi đâu và nói rằng cậu là lái xe tải ở Hải Dương thường chở hàng lên Cao Bằng và Lạng Sơn. Cậu nói là tỉnh trạng này xảy ra nhiều lần ở đây và có lần cậu phải thuê nhà dân nấu cơm hộ. Sau đó, cậu dẫn tôi tới khu lán trại của công nhân làm đường, ra khu bể nước mưa và tôi múc nước ở đây để rửa chân. Cậu còn mời tôi uống nước và ngồi chờ ở đó.
Phật Tích pagoda in Bắc Ninh provincePhật Tích pagoda in Bắc Ninh provincePhật Tích pagoda in Bắc Ninh province

I visited this pagoda on the way from Lạng Sơn back to Hanoi.
Từ vị trí này, tôi nhìn thấy các xe khách và xe ô tô nhỏ dùng con đường dốc đầy bùn làm đường tắt để đi cho nhanh. Các cô cậu học sinh hò nhau đẩy xe “Cố lên! Cố lên!” và vui sướng reo lên khi chiếc xe vượt qua được con dốc để lên đường lớn và đi tiếp hành trình về hướng Cao Bằng. Một số xe khác thì leo lên tụt xuống dốc đến tận 5-7 lần và phải thuê người đẩy hộ.

Cuối cùng thì chiếc xe tải gần đổ nghiêng cũng được giải cứu. Cậu bé lái xe tải chào tôi và quay về xe của mình. Tôi cảm ơn cậu bé và rất cảm động vì được cậu giúp đỡ. Tôi tìm thấy xe của mình và lên đường về TP Lạng Sơn. Như vậy là chúng tôi đã bị mắc kẹt ở đây suốt 3 giờ đồng hồ. Chúng tôi đến TP Lạng Sơn vào lúc 8 giờ tối. TP Lạng Sơn cách Hà Nội 150km, có các cửa khẩu giao thương với Trung Quốc, nên ở đây phát triển và sầm uất hơn so với các thị xã ở vùng Đông Bắc mà chúng tôi đã đi qua trong chuyến đi này. Chúng tôi ăn một bữa tối hoành tráng với 10 món ăn, phần lớn là các đặc sản của Lạng Sơn.

Sáng hôm sau, chúng tôi khởi hành đi thăm Núi Mẫu Sơn, cách TP Lạng Sơn 30km theo Quốc lộ 4B và đi mất một tiếng đồng hồ. Điểm thăm quan này không có trong tour, nên chúng tôi thanh toán trực tiếp cho anh lái xe. Con đường lên núi rất hẹp, chỉ đủ để một xe đi, tuy nhiên dọc đường có hàng rào bảo vệ và từng đoạn lại có chỗ đường được nới rộng để hai xe tránh nhau. Phong cảnh trên đường đi rất đẹp với những dãy núi trập trùng. Khi chúng tôi lên tới đỉnh núi (độ cao 1300m), trời lạnh và toàn sương mù, nên chúng tôi không ngắm được toàn cảnh. Vào mùa đông, ở đây rất lạnh, thậm chí dưới 0oC và băng đá phủ lên cỏ cây trông rất đẹp, nên thu hút nhiều khách lên thăm quan. Sau khi đi bộ một lát thì chúng tôi cảm thấy ấm hơn. Tại đây có nhiều ngôi nhà cổ từ thời Pháp được dùng làm nhà nghỉ, có cả bể bơi, rất nhiều hoa cẩm tú cầu, tháp truyền hình trong màn sương chỉ nhìn thấy phần chân đế, và đài quan sát cũng mờ mịt nốt.

Chúng tôi quay về Lạng Sơn, ghé thăm thật nhanh hai động Tam Thanh và Nhị Thanh, rồi dành nửa tiếng đồng hồ bên trong chợ Đông Kinh. Đây là điểm đến yêu thích của người Việt mỗi khi đến Lạng Sơn và mua sắm đồ Tàu. Trên đường quay về Hà Nội, tôi cũng đến thăm chùa Phật Tích ở Bắc Ninh, nhưng ngọn tháp ở ngôi chùa này vẫn đang trong quá trình xây dựng.

Tôi đã không nghĩ là Blog về Lạng Sơn lại dài đến như vậy. Những điều mà tôi thích nhất ở Lạng Sơn là chuyến đi thăm Núi Mẫu Sơn, cuộc gặp gỡ với cậu lái xe tải người Hải Dương trên đoạn đường xe bị kẹt, và các món ăn rất ngon ở nhà hàng Thảo Viên tại TP Lạng Sơn. Blog tiếp theo của tôi sẽ là về Cao Bằng với nhiều ảnh hơn.

Các blog khác trong chuyến đi đến vùng Đông Bắc:

Tuyên Quang (North East - Part 1)

Ba Bể lake (North East - Part 2)

Bản Giốc waterfall (North East - Part 4)


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 35


Advertisement

Road to the top of Mẫu Sơn mountainRoad to the top of Mẫu Sơn mountain
Road to the top of Mẫu Sơn mountain

The road is so narrow and winding that only one car can get through.
Gate to Tam Thanh pagoda and caveGate to Tam Thanh pagoda and cave
Gate to Tam Thanh pagoda and cave

This is one of the popular destinations for tourists whenever they visit the city.
Cars & trucks stuck on muddy roadCars & trucks stuck on muddy road
Cars & trucks stuck on muddy road

We are on the way to Lạng Sơn from Cao Bằng. The road was so muddy after the rain. Our car was stuck here for 3 hours. This happened when we were 45km away from Lạng Sơn city (Tắc đường tại huyện Tràng Định của tỉnh Lạng Sơn do hai xe tải bị sa lầy trong đất bùn nhão. 3 tiếng sau chúng tôi mới đi tiếp được)
Inclining truck on the muddy roadInclining truck on the muddy road
Inclining truck on the muddy road

The heavy truck was inclining after being stuck in the mud. Two drivers tied a rope so that front truck could tow it, but it didn't work until an excavator came. (Xe tải nghiêng gần đổ bên đường vì bị sa lầy trong bùn. Lái xe buộc dây để xe tải phía trước kéo nhưng không được. Về sau phải dùng máy đào để lấp đất và kéo xe).
Tam giáo pagoda - Nhị Thanh caveTam giáo pagoda - Nhị Thanh cave
Tam giáo pagoda - Nhị Thanh cave

Chùa Tam Giáo thờ Phật Giáo, Nho Giáo và Đạo lão Giáo.
Our dinner in Lạng Sơn cityOur dinner in Lạng Sơn city
Our dinner in Lạng Sơn city

10 dishes with various local specialties.


6th June 2012

Hi Hong Ha, What a trip you had :) Lang Son looks likea cool place for summer get away. The roast duck & roast pork looked delicious & the skin looked crispy, yummy :)
6th June 2012

Lang Son
Great blog - what an experience! The roads remind me of a trip by road from Hanoi to Sapa in 2008. It is very interesting to read a blog like this from a native Vietnamese who can speak to the locals in remote places in their own language. I remember going to the huge market in Lang Son in 2006 and having an excellent lunch afterwards. Many thanks for bringing back these happy memories.
6th June 2012

So "yummy" Lang Son !
I have not been here yet, however i will come there before next winter All dishes look so yummy, don't they! so inviting things, a way to conquer tourists to a new land! Many thanks Hong Ha for the inf.
6th June 2012

THAT is real food
I love the food in South East Asia. Yes, yes, yes.
25th June 2012

Lang Song
Dear Han, Congratulations on your" exodus" from muddy troubles. I can imagine how you cluld enjoy special dinner shown in your photos, which seems delicious to me, too.The flowers in your photo are very popular and bloomed here and there during rainy season now, even at my garden. Best Wishes from Kob
14th February 2014

Tân Trào & Lạng Sơn
Tôi đọc blog của cô suốt đêm. Hình ảnh sinh động về cứ điểm Tân Trào làm lòng tự hào về đất nước và cách mạng Việt Nam của tôi dậy lên . Vịt quay , heo quay kho mềm của Lạng Sơn cô làm tôi không ngủ được ! Tôi sẽ phải về thăm Tân Trào của Cách Mạng Tháng Tám và ...Lạng Sơn ! Đa tạ Hồng Hà.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 38; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb