Sleeper Bus in Vietnam!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » North Central Coast
November 7th 2013
Published: November 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We made it!!! We survived the dreaded sleeper bus!

We had heard dreadful things about this bus, people being left in the middle of nowhere, some passengers sleeping in the aisles, and cockroaches and loud music to keep you awake all night. Why did we even bother you ask? well its by far the cheapest way to travel. There is an overnight train, but after experiencing the overnight train in India we weren't in a big rush to do that, plus the train was much more expensive than the bus. The bus is also pretty convenient because you pick out the destinations throughout Vietnam that you wish to stop at, and then you have an open ticket that lasts a month, (although as with everything in Vietnam it seems this isn't strictly adhered to) then you give 24 hours notice and a bus will pick you up from your hotel the next day to take you to your next stop.

After all the horror stories we were pleased with what we found... the bus picked us up from the hotel successfully, the beds were long enough for us both to sleep in (although neither of us are tall, and a person not of average height would definitely struggle!), there was no loud music keeping us awake, and the bus provides blankets... despite all the research I did about bedbugs before I left, I have gotten to the point where I ask myself, do I really want to search this bed/blanket... if I find something.. what am I going to do about it? So now I just deal with things as they happen.... So I was lying in bed reading, when a cockroach crawls out from the side!!! I didn't scream! I just grabbed my sunglasses case and started whacking around everywhere (I must have looked ridiculous), the cockroach ran behind me, where thankfully the girl behind was primed with a shoe and didn't miss! Not a great start to the journey but I was proud of myself for not screaming, and I did manage to sleep still so maybe I am getting better with the bug thing! (if it was a spider... i am not sure what would have happened lol).

We have one more overnight journey to take on the bus, but other than that the rest of the trips are small 3/4 hour journeys so we can cover them during the day! 😊

Miss you all!! xxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb