Hoi An then onto Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » North Central Coast » Thua Thien - Huế » Hué
October 17th 2013
Published: October 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Soooo, ive not updated you in a while.... very sorry about that. <br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" />Had an amazing time in Hoi An. We hired bikes out and rode for hours on end. Discovered the Acient Town which was so beautiful we went there alot!!!! 😊. I still managed to go out 2 of the nights I was there to the same bar which was about 3 pound to get in and all your drinks (spirits) are free all night!! Amazing hey! Definately my Kind of place. <br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" />On one of the days me and louise went on an easy rider tour. This is where we get on the back of a motorbike with a tour guide and go off to visit all these lovely places. It was great for us as it killed 2 birds with one stone as it took us up to Marble Mountain which is in D'nang, and saved us actually having to stay there the night cause there's not alot else going on up there... We vistied some lovely beaches and saw all the locals working either catching fish with the HUGE nets in the sea or the locals on the street with food they are all preparing. I was facinated to see the bunkers from the americans which was still there too!!! But even being so far away, still didn't get away from the local women in the shop constantly saying "you buy you buy"and then proceeding to keep touching you. Tell you something, that on a hot day when you're tired and maybe slightly hungover is not the one. But I did as I always do, smile and say yes maybe later 😊 (and then walk away hahaha). Visited the most beautiful waterfall, where we went swimming in too! Great way to cool off. And im telling you, 8 hours on the back of a motorbike certainly hurts your backside... hahaha I had a numb bum for hours 😞. <br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" />We then arranged for the next overnight bus to take us to Hanoi, North of Vietnam. We was told it would be 17 hours, but we paid a little extra to have the 'better'bus. It arrived and a minibus took us to the bus station, for us to then get on a coach to travel to Hue, and then it would be the sleeper bus. The journey to Hue wasn't the best, ha, the roads are sooo bumpy, but always in true spirit of the 'fun'journey, our bus broke down........hmmmmm didnt need to worry though as our bus driver had his 4 spanners??? anyway about an hour later it was fixed and off we went. Finally got onto the sleeper bus, and well... it wasnt 'better'at all. Originally they put me and louise and 2 other girls at the back row on the bottom, you couldnt even sit up there was no room, it was stuffy and there was no light if you wanted to read??? So lou complained and eventually we were able to move. I don't know if my original seat would have been the better one, as although I had my own space, I was next to the window and I had a light, I also had surrounding me little cockroaches........... grrrrr. Everytime I looked down the isle (cause I was basically lying on the floor) i kept seeing little bugs running. And knowing me, you know I was freaking out. <br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" />Eventually called for a toilet stop. And just for good measure for a tired hot me, they were the traditional toilets. For those of you who aren't sure what they look like, let me give you a brief description. And it is brief. Its a hole in the ground. There you go, you get to practice those squats that you did back home. And the cubicle that i went into didnt lock, so had to get lou to come in, hold the bag as that was not going on the floor, to hold the door, look away as well you know. Now that's friendship right there hahaha. <br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" />Back on the road again, and as all things come in 3's, this bus also broke down and the air con stopped working. Hahaha, you couldn't make this up I swear!!! Eventually got to Hanoi 23 hours later. <br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" />Hanoi is in a way very much like Ho Chi Minh. Very busy lots of bikes and cars. But now Mark has joined us yay!!! 😊 <br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" />We went to Halong Bay the 2nd day we was there, and had a private car to take us there. Now this trip was organised and planned by Mark, which was sooo nice of him, so me and louise didn't really know alot about it. Got to Halong Bay where we got on our boat. Now I say our boat, cause that's what it was. Mark had actually hired out the whole boat for the 3 of us. All does become clear because he proposes to my Little Louise!!!! 😊 😊 😊 This is very exciting. And Im so so happy for you both. <br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" />Halong Bay is beautiful!!! Words cannot really describe it. We went Kayaking, an jumped off the top deck of the boat!! (which is far more scarier than I would have realised haha) The food was amazing, this was a top chef right there!! Presented sooooooo nice and tasted so good! I wanted to take him home ha. I had my own little cabin too with a double bed, a jaccuzzi bath and a shower!!! I didn't want to leave! I was even taught how to make vietnamese spring rolls. And passed with a certificate ha. <br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" />Back at the hotel, I meet up with a friend I had met in Hoi An. Went out for food and drinks then met up with people from his hostel for pub quiz and drinks. Ended up going out, which was such a laugh. Obviously as I had been out since the day time, I was in my glasses, sunglasses in pocket with my shorts on, but im a backpacker, so I styled it out. Walking back after the night out with 3 others that I had met, I managed to have my first (and hoping last) experience of pick pocketing, or mugging really. It was dark and a vietnamese man ran past me, hand straight in my right front pocket of my jean shorts and swiped my Raybans..... yes my prescription, wasn't cheap, pride and joy Raybans. Instinctly I ran after him shouting No No You're not doing this to me, but my purse fell out on the floor so ran back for that (cause I thought you are not having that!!) and I looked up, and he jumped on the back of a moped!!! Angry was an understatement. Eventually I did calm down, and thought you know what, jokes on you Mr, cause as they were prescription, little did he know, i'm as blind as a bat! Ha !!! 😊 Leaving Hanoi the following morning, so not alot I could do about it. <br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" /><br style="color:򇨣 font-family: Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: 20px;" />Got a flight to Cambodia, and I have now arrived here safe and sound. 😊 xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb