Easy rider Hue to Hoi An


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » North Central Coast » Thua Thien - Huế » Hué
July 28th 2013
Published: August 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

After the most amazing night of sleep in the most amazingly gorgeous hotel (all for a mere $15 a night) we were picked up nice and early by Trung and Mr Tien.
I don't mind telling you, I was pretty nervous about the whole motorbike thing. But these weren't mopeds nor were they sports bikes they were just quite roomy motorbikes. After all of our bags were strapped to the side of the bikes and were were put into our very attractive helmets we set off into the Hue morning rush hour. Hue is the biggest city in central Vietnam (and I believe it was pretty heavily damaged in the war) but the rush hour was fine. I was on Mr tien's bike and his English wasn't the best but he kept checking I was okay and was trying to explain that all I had to do was sit there and enjoy. After about 10 minutes I unclamped my hands from the grip behind me and by the end of the day I was taking pictures and waving at children like an old pro! We stopped outside of the city for Vietnamese coffee. They insisted I try some so I did my best! I tried Eireann's first which was like burned extra strong black treacle. Then after everyone laughed a bit at someone who didn't like coffee?!?!? They gave me 4 tea spoons of it in hot sweetened milk. It tasted like hot chocolate still.. I don't think I'll be on the coffee when I get home! The ride was amazing. We went off the beaten track and despite a little bit of numb bum I was sad when we got to our destination. For lunch trung took us to a very local very Vietnamese restaurant. Two meals, with drinks, soup and spring rolls came to less than £1.50. It was very very tasty! We'd struggle somewhere like that though as no English was spoken and trying to explain a vegetarian and someone who can't eat fish to someone who doesn't understand any English would be tricky! Our trip ended in Hoi An at about 4pm. Our hotel is a bit basic. It's not cheap really but it seems a bit backpacker. The check in was done quite abruptly, there isn't a lift and there isn't a bottle of water for teeth brushing etc. Its fine for the time we are here but compared to what we just came from its very meh! We went for a wander and to have a look around various tailors to see who was the least pushy but the best and most knowledgeable. We must have looked around 40 tailors. We have narrowed it down to two and will decide later. We have just eaten and are going for a mooch around some of the bars. There is a massive traveller scene here so I'm sure we will make friends quickly!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb