i am here!..without bags! : I


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » North Central Coast » Thua Thien - Huế » Hué
August 1st 2006
Published: August 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

hey!!

hope everyone is ok!?
This is just an update on the last few days which have been a bit crazy!! I had a wicked time in Singapore, its a really cool place and would def recommend it if u have the chance to stop off there! managed to cram loads into the one full day i had there!and explored the island with 2 girls i met in the hostel!
we went to sentosa, a little island which u get to by cable car, shopping (just bcos there are malls everywhere u look!), had a singapore sling in the place where they were created - Raffles at the Long Bar which was amazing and they r actually really good cocktails!and then went to a malayan food festival...very interesting food and lots of stares from the local women made it an experience but not necessarily a good one! then in the evening we went to the midnight safari which was cool!

The next day i arrived at changi airport in vietnam where they said they had overbooked my flight so they put me onto a later flight which was annoying but they paid me so cant complain too much! but bcos i didnt take my luggage out of singapore airport when i arrived for my time there when they moved my flight i asked them to make sure my two bags were on the right flight and they assured me that they were!! So I got my flight from singapore to central Vietnam via Saigon (in the south of vietnam) but on landing in Saigon my bags hadnt arrived and i was hurried onto my next flight to my final destination!! so your with so far....?? I finally arrived at Da Nang, in central Vietnam where Miss Hang met me (one of the translators for GVN) and i explained what had happend but she wasnt really understanding!and the security guy wouldnt let me back into the airport to find my luggage! by this time id had enough!i was exhausted and had been in the same clothes since i left Heathrow so pretty smelly as well!!! not nice!

So anyway I got to the volunteer house in Da Nang (just one of the 4/5 programs) and it was all a bit overwhelming really! (this was yesturday) but after a manic day of vietnamese lessons, orientation, introductions to the placements and a 2 hour car journey to Tam Ky oh and a failed attempt to find clothes at the market here in Tam Ky I have finally found out from Viet that my bags have arrived in Da Nang and they will bring them tomorrow!!! so im VERY relieved!!!!!

That was very long!!sorry!!

Vietnam is amazing! its so different to anything i have ever experienced before...the people are so friendly and they want to talk to you, touch you, smell you and just generally stare at u! Myself, robin, abi, liane and madelaine are the only white people in this large town so it isnt so wierd that they stare at u! i feel very large here all the people are tiny - short and petite so trying to find clothes was fun!not!!! all the women just make fun of your shape! its not as hot as i thought it would be and i think i adjusted a bit at home bcos it has been so humid there! there have been some really heavy showers and riding ur bike in them alongside so many mopeds with horns going off in every direction is definatley an experience!!
I cant wait to work with the children and tomorrow is my first project, a new one on the beach so need to go now and plan a lesson/games! Sorry this has been so long the next one will be much much shorter i promise!!

Let me know how you are!!!
lots of love charlotte ! xxxxxxxxx




Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0845s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb