FLASHBACK: Hue - tourist haven


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » North Central Coast » Thua Thien - Huế » Hué
February 15th 2009
Published: February 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Now that's art!Now that's art!Now that's art!

In a park by the river they had a bunch of sculptures and this one was to my liking. A naked lady about to be groped by 14 hands - YEAH! My alternate interpretation is a naked lady ontop of a guy having a Kafka moment... I should really be an art critic!
This'll be a short one as I didn't spend too much time in Hue and really didn't see a lot.

It was really nice coming to this place after being in Ninh Binh and Dong Ha but unfortunately I was on a tight schedule with lots to see and on this damned quest of finding medical care so I only spent a day and a half in Hue. This was a shame as it was one of the few places I really liked in Vietnam. Despite it being very touristy it had a nice vibe to it.

There was good food to be found here with tons of restaurants everywhere and I stayed in the best place I've ever been in on ALL my travels: the Nhu Phu Hotel. This, of course, isn't the Hilton* or anything as I'm by no means any highroller or anything but for the budget traveller this place is da shit! I paid 7$ and got two soft beds, AC, cable-tv, free WiFi, a fridge, an okay backyard view and the nicest bathroom in SEA so far with the regular soap, shampoo and toothbrushes with toothpaste, but here's the twist: they even threw in
Some bunkerSome bunkerSome bunker

This bunker was part of the eastern citadel wall.
some Q-tips! 8-D All this may not sound so impressive to the veteran budget traveller but I've seen a LOT of hotels, guesthouses and hostels, so believe me. It goes without saying that the place was really clean and had friendly staff. Regular readers of this blog may be familiar with the fact that I don't dish out that many accolades to places but this one deserves it.

The main thing I did in this town was to walk around in the old Citadel. I did a hell of a lot criss crossing and when I left the main tourist streets I met a lot of locals greeting me without wanting anything from me which is nice for a change. I also visited the revolutionary museum (or something like that. I can't recall what they called it). They had the usual gun and tank park outside and then they had some exhibitions focusing on different struggles like versus the French and the Americans. Unfortunately these were closed, which I only found out after waiting an hour trying to communicate with some dude working at the museum. The guy had a big scar on his forehead. A present from Nixon,
More instruments of death...More instruments of death...More instruments of death...

This M48 tank was one of the weapons on display at the museum.
he claimed. He was a nice fellow offering me that bitter tea they have, but I was really anxious to see the exhibitions and a bit frustrated from our retarded communication. So an hour of pointless signlanguaging led nowhere. Another bad thing was that my only full day in Hue totally rained away.

So with a feeling of lament I left this cozy town and headed for Danang.

*I've actually stayed at the Hilton in Malmoe, Sweden. Of course, I didn't have to pay shit as I was working otherwise you wouldn't see my face in a joint like that. But I actually found the Nhu Phu cozier than the glitzy Hilton! Pari... Sorry, The Hilton had a killer view though.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Bridge to the CitadelBridge to the Citadel
Bridge to the Citadel

What a beautiful day, by the way...
The old palaceThe old palace
The old palace

No, I never went in there. They charged MONEY! <:-D
Shout at the Devil!!!Shout at the Devil!!!
Shout at the Devil!!!

Either there's a secret society of satanists in Hue or else they really love Mötley Crue, planting these mysterious caps in the ground.
You think I'm kidding!?You think I'm kidding!?
You think I'm kidding!?

Here's more evidence!


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb