Holy Sh*t moments


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
February 17th 2010
Published: February 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It has been a week since I started my Gap Adventures tour. I have had a good handful of holy sh*t moments. These are the moments when you go "oh my god, I am half way across the world doing something so amazing". These moments are exhilerating.

My first holy sh*t moment was in Bangkok. I had arrived the night before after what can only be described as a long journey. I had flown for 13 hours, stopovered in Seoul for 14, and then flown for another 6 hours. One would expect me to have my moment when getting off the plane, or arriving at the hotel. Nope. I was too tierd and jet lagged. But after a good night sleep and a buffet breakfast - Bangkok style ie pancakes with a side of rice I was off on the road. I had my first moment when sitting in a taxi on the way to the Grand Palace and surrounding sights. While crawling through traffic I got my first glimpse of Thailand in motion and it made me smile - I had finally arrived.

There was also a smug nature to my smile because I had done my homework and knew what kind of taxi would be best. Not the hotel one who wanted to charge me 200 baht. Not the taxi just outside the doors who was offering me the same price. Instead I walked down the street and in true New York style I waved down a taxi. Gave him my destination, asked him to put on his meter (thats how they scam you) and had a relaxing 80 baht ride to the sights.

My next holy sh*t moment was at Angkor Wat. For those of you who know me and had been talking to me before I left know how excited I was for Angkor Wat. It is an architectural wonder of the world and I got to see it. Now only that but I got to see the Angkor with the sun rising as the magnificeant backdrop. We arrived early in the morning, ie 6am. They provided us all with chairs and a hot drink, even though the temperature was already way above 25*c. I opted for a cup of tea. With tea glass in hand I leaned back and watched the sky transform.

My most recent moment happened this afternoon. The tour offered the oppurtunity to take a motorbike up Sam Mountain along the Mekong Delta in Vietnam to watch the sunset. I hopped on a bike with my driver, Yom and we wizzed away. Yom had a need for speed and was consistently the head of the pack. And if he wasn't well he made sure he was. He was good to me. Everytime he went sppedy Gonzalas on me he would say "you okay?". And if I showed any hesitation about the speed I was told "no worries, you my friend". Yom kept to his word and got me up and down the mountain in one piece. I also got a language lesson in Vietnamese. I learned how to say Buffalo and Cow...if I could only remember.

Tomorrow we are off to Ho Chi Min City, or what may be better known as Saigon.

Advertisement



17th February 2010

Holy Sh*t, I'm jealous :)
Sounds so amazing, so many memories jammed into a day, a week. I am so proud of you!
18th February 2010

Love it Bria! no worries you my friend too ;) Keep the entries coming! can't wait for the next one!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb